THE line up of the new Council Executive has been announced.

Following the formation of the Liberal Democrat-Green coalition, revealed earlier this week, City of York Council has confirmed the nine new Executive Members that will lead the Council in improving services for residents across the city.

The prospective Executive Members are now confirmed as follows:

• Leader of the Council, including Policy, Strategy, and Partnerships – Cllr Keith Aspden

• Deputy Leader of the Council and Executive Member for Transport – Cllr Andy D’Agorne

• Executive Member for Economy and Strategic Planning – Cllr Andrew Waller

• Executive Member for Environment and Climate Change – Cllr Paula Widdowson

• Executive Member for Finance and Performance – Cllr Nigel Ayre

• Executive Member for Health and Adult Social Care – Cllr Carol Runciman

• Executive Member for Housing and Safer Neighbourhoods – Cllr Denise Craghill

• Executive Member for Culture, Leisure and Communities – Cllr Darryl Smalley

• Executive Member for Children, Young People, and Education – Cllr Ian Cuthbertson

The new Executive team will begin their roles following the Annual Council meeting next Wednesday.

Changes have led to an additional Executive Member role being created for Climate Change, with an action plan focusing towards York becoming a zero-carbon city.

Cllr Keith Aspden, Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group, said: “I am pleased to announce our new Executive Members and look forward to working with them in their roles from the 22nd May. The new team will provide a rich mix of talent, experience, new ideas and most importantly, commitment to York, its local communities and residents.”

“Over the coming months and years, we will increase the Council’s focus on improving the city’s frontline services and create the capacity to deliver for our local communities. This will include Cllr Andrew Waller leading on economic development and Cllr Paula Widdowson leading on climate change. Our team will work on building confidence in the Council by giving residents a greater voice.”

Cllr Andy D’Agorne, Leader of the Green Group, said: “Both myself and Cllr Craghill are delighted to be taking up Executive positions on the Council and we look forward to seizing this opportunity to deliver real improvements in York. This will include implementing policies to deliver the actions agreed in our climate emergency motion.”

“We look forward to working positively with stakeholders, residents and all parties on the Council to achieve our shared vision.”