RALPH Tiplady was a three-time winner in the New Earswick Indoor Bowls Club knockout finals and league play-offs.

Despite being 18-17 down in the handicap singles Tiplady (-2) won the next three ends to pip Andrew Fothergill (+5) 21-18 to take the Nancy Williams Trophy.

The same players met again in the gents singles, where Tiplady established a 19-7 lead. Though Fothergill fought back, Tiplady rallied to win 21-14.

In the play-off gents pairs, Malcolm Beavers’ rink led 18-17 on the 19th end only for Tiplady’s team to seize the last two ends for a 21-18 triumph.

Margaret Moss successfully defended her singles crown against Diane Hardy. Moss led only 9-7 after 12 ends but took eight of the next ten to win 22-11.

In the gents pairs, Bob Howland and Mick Stannard scored a two on the 20th to trail 15-14, but the final end went to Dave Sykes and Pat Inwood to take the title, and their respective spouses, Kath Sykes and Betty Inwood scored a late two to beat Moss and Pat Walker to grab the ladies’ pairs title.

Mavis Hardcastle and Andrew Fothergill were in contention at the 11th end drawing 7-7 but Ian Farrar and Pat Walker outscored their opponents and won the mixed pairs 18-11.

Malcolm Beavers, Chris Beavers and Dennis Elils won the Any Triples title beating Barry Johnson, Kevin Fort and Tony Abbott 21-11.

Partnering Bob Edwards, Johnson had better fortune in the Any Two Wood Pairs, where they took the final three ends to beat David and Margaret Pearson 24-19.

Elsewhere, in the play-offs Ron Wood’s team had a comfortable 23-12 victory over Alwyn Fletcher’s team to keep hold of their vets gents triples title.

The result of last year’s vets mixed doubles final was reversed – Peggy Walker’s are runners-up now champions after beating Dave Sykes’s team 18-16.

In the vets gents fours, another of last year’s runners up went one better, with Barry Harrison’s team beating Peter Hepple’s team 23-18 despite a late rally from the latter.

In the gents fours, Brian Gray’s team retained their title beating Bill Waldie’s team 20-13, while the gents triples proved a one-sided affair with Graham Lockwood’s team beating Andrew Fothergill’s triple 29-8.

At 17-15 on the 17th end Heworth Cons were well in contention for the club gents fours, but a strong finish with a four on the last end saw Shipton clinch the match 23-15.

In the club mixed fours, Heworth Cons finished strongly scoring five shots on the last two ends but it wasn’t enough to catch The Robins, who held on to take victory for the sixth consecutive year. Greenhills ran out easy winners of the club Any Triples play-offs beating Hedgehogs 29-9.

In a reversal of last year’s final Malcolm Beavers’ team overcame Millie Howland’s team 20-10 in the mixed pairs, while Margaret Moss’s team retained their ladies pairs title beating Diane Hardy’s team 26-11.

The ladies triples was a topsy-turvy contest, with Moyra Healdey’s team leading 10-5 after ten ends. Betty Thompson’s triple took the next five to lead 12-10. Headley still had it all to do but captured the title with three to win.

Maureen Wood’s team had to work even harder to retain the ladies’ fours crown. Down 11-20 after 15 ends to Audrey Imeson’s team, they took the next six ends to win 21-10.