THE bottom two sides in division four west were in opposition at Drax as Woodhouse Grange IV defeated the hosts by 78 runs to open up a 23 point gap.

Grange totalled 126 thanks to 49 by Michael Gilbank as Steve Ryan took 4-13. Gilbank claimed 3-26 to dismiss Drax for 48.

Pocklington’s John Chaplin posted an unbeaten 135, Geoff Woodward 64 and James Saltmer 57 not out as they made 302-4 at Carlton Towers. Ted Donkin took 4-15 and Callum Quarton 3-17 as Carlton tumbled to 155 all out.

Cawood had a good 69-run win over Bolton Percy after making 197-5, with Tom Russell making an unbeaten 81 and Mike Gibson 64. When Bolton replied, John Rossington scored 47, but Gibson’s 4-52 allied with James Pullein’s 3-11 had Bolton all out for 128.

Leaders Hemingbrough suffered their first defeat when they lost by seven wickets to Dunnington. Brough made 235-7 as Paul Van Dijk hit 45. Dunnington’s fine reply featured an unbeaten 100 by Steve Young, which was backed by Josh Tattersall with 66 in a winning total of 237-3.

Tadcaster Magnet retained second place when they beat Rowntrees by five wickets. James Aveyard top-scored with 55 not out and Tony Thomson made 38 in Rowntrees’ 132-4. Magnet’s winning reply contained runs from Matt Hunt (30) and Kev Wakefield (48).

Copmanthorpe are romping away with division four central after recording their ninth win at New Earswick, who lost by 85 runs. Copmanthorpe’s best batting was by Phil Northfield, who hit 58 in a total of 151. Manas Dixit then grabbed 5-4 to oust Earswick for 66.

Stillington closed on 59-9 against Osbaldwick as Ben Richardson took 4-14 and Steve Smith 3-17. Nigel Rippon then made 32 before being the only Osbaldwick batsman to fall.

In division four east, Brandesburton’s Mike Sharp cracked an unbeaten 200 in his side’s 331-5 at Driffield, who were 115 all out.