Table tennis: Holgate in wipe out of RI rivals

York Press: Ed Wardman Ed Wardman

ANCHOR outfit Holgate ‘D’ pulled off a shock 10-0 win over a depleted RI ‘G’ in division three of the Northern Powergrid York and District Table Tennis League.

Colin Dickson, Pete Taylor and Steve Wands produced fine performances.

Rob Farmery was in stunning form, never dropping a game as Holgate ‘C’ overcame Bootham ‘E’ 8-2.

Dennis Chatterton guided Aviva ‘A’ to a narrow win over BT ‘A’, while Ray Mitchell was in determined mood as Bootham ‘F’ edged out University ‘B’, while Pete Corner was the key man as they also overpowered BT ‘A’ 7-3.

Martin Lowe maintained his unbeaten record as Coneysthorpe ‘A’ swept to an 8-2 win over Holgate ‘A’ in division one.

In division two, Mike Robinson won his singles but his Tramways side were held to a draw by Bootham ‘D’.

Dave Lamb was unbeaten as Shepherds ‘A’ had the better of a close tussle with Bootham ‘C’.

Ed Wardman starred as Shepherds ‘C’ beat Bootham ‘D’ 7-3.

Both Dave Jackson and Mark Blackburn were unbeaten when RI ‘E’ derailed Tramways 7-3, with Blackburn, aided by Jonathan Chabry, helping RI ‘D’ to a 7-3 win over ailing Shepherds ‘B’.

David Atkinson and Alan Johnson were in good form as Shepherds ‘E’ thumped RI ‘J’ 9-1 in division four.


Comments are closed on this article.


Get Adobe Flash player
About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree