CITY of York Council has released a list of planned school closures and partial closures as teachers prepare to stage a one-day strike this week.

Of the 65 state schools in York, head teachers at 26 schools have so far notified the council that some or all of their classes will be affected, but several have yet to say whether they will be affected or not.

The National Union of Teachers has called out its members for a nationwide strike on Wednesday in a dispute with the Government over workloads, bureaucracy, performance-related pay and unfair pension changes.

Five schools will be completely closed: Acomb Primary School, Skelton Primary School, Stockton-on-the-Forest Primary School, Yearsley Grove Primary School and Hob Moor Oaks Special School.

Six of the city's secondary schools are expecting to be open as usual. Archbishop Holgate's School and Joseph Rowntree School have both said they will only be partially open and the education authority has yet to release details about Manor and Millthorpe Schools.

Eighteen primary schools are also expecting to be partially closed, and are telling parents whether their children will be affected. Archbishop Holgate's School has said Year 10 pupils on work experience assignments will not be affected.

The 18 partially-closed primary schools will be: Archbishop of York's Junior, Bishopthorpe Infant, Copmanthorpe, Dunnington, Elvington, Fishergate, Headlands, Hempland, Hob Moor Primary, Huntington Primary, Knavesmire, Lord Deramore's, Naburn, St Oswald's, St Paul's, St Wilfrid's, Westfield and Wigginton. Applefields Special School will also be partially closed.

There are more than 23,000 pupils in York schools including academy schools and those run in partnership arrangements with outside bodies such as the Church of England and the Roman Catholic Church.

North Yorkshire County Council had not released details of their school closures at the time of publication.