THE 60TH anniversary of the discovery of ghostly goings-on at a York tourist attraction is being marked by spine-chilling tours.
The Treasurer’s House has reopened in spooky style by commemorating the 1953 experience of Harry Martindale, who as a teenager famously saw a Roman legion march through the cellar of the historic building while working there as a heating engineer.
Visitors will be able to grab a hard hat and relive Harry’s story through daily cellar tours, and can also take a 45-minute guided stroll around the house – regarded as one of the most haunted places in the city – to hear its raft of other ghost stories.
Meanwhile, extra pieces of the house’s collection will also be going on display through the Fascinating Frank tour, named after the house’s last owner Frank Green, who – legend has it – threatened to haunt anybody who dared to move any of his furniture.
The tours will run from 11am to 3pm every day except Fridays until February 28. From March 2 to October 31, the house will be open every day except Fridays between 11am and 4.30pm. Charges apply for the cellar tours and children must be eight and over.