MALTON ‘A’ beat main rivals Fulford ‘A’ 6-1 to regain the York Conservative Clubs’ Carlsberg UK Snooker League title.

Malton, who last won the championship in 2012, quickly picked up the point they needed to seal top spot with a black ball win by Simon Weatherill.

James Lee levelled in the second game, but Malton cruised to victory with wins for Roger Ward (black ball), Phil Hart (respotted black ball), Dan Pawson, Steve Beal and Dominic Spiteri.

Heworth ‘A’ pushed Fulford ‘A’ down to third place with a 5-2 victory over Acomb ‘A’, who they will meet in the team cup final at Fulford tonight.

Kevin Gall held off Richard Lillie (27 break), then Jordan Worobec (39 break) and Mark Winskill (36 break) made it 3-0 for Heworth.

Keith Thornhill stopped the run by defeating Neil Wood, only for Gary Douglas to seal Heworth’s win.

Phil Carlton beat Clive Whyte (30 break) for Acomb’s second point, then Steve Burdett had a walkover win.

Heworth finished second, nine points behind Malton with Fulford a further two points adrift.

Fulford ‘B’ beat Bootham ‘A’ 5-2, which means Bootham have lost every match in the second half of the season.

Dean Smith and Andy Hurley gave Fulford a start, but Peter Jackson was given the third frame when Bob Smith went in-off the final black and Stuart Martel then levelled.

John Adcock, Arthur Pegden (25 clearance) and Jim Rollinson completed the win.

In the last match, Heworth ‘A’ were unable to raise a team to travel to Acomb ‘B’, who were awarded a 7-0 win.

Weatherill’s win ensured he is the Worthington player of the year with 13 wins in 16 games, and Bootham’s Paul Scorfield was joint second with Malton’s Ward, each with 12 wins in 15 games.

Malton’s Lee Taylor remains the leader in the Pasema Paving highest break contest with his 85 clearance, but the team cup final also qualifies for this competition.