FULFORD ‘A’ made the most of meeting the bottom side in the York Conservative Clubs’ Carlsberg UK Snooker League by notching up their 11th win in 13 matches to consolidate their lead position.

Andy Ireland (25 break) held off Tom Lewis to give Heworth a start, but Glen Mountain (48 break), Andy Marshall (23 break) and Jamie Husband (23 break) moved Fulford ahead.

Brian Birch (24 break) gained Heworth’s second point, but James Lee (23 break) and Sam Wass (21 break) completed the rout.

Malton ‘A’ kept up the pressure and reduced Fulford’s lead to four points with a 6-1 defeat of second bottom Fulford ‘B’ and they have a game in hand.

Arthur Pegden gained Fulford’s point with a black ball win in the first frame, but this was cancelled out by Lee Taylor, also on the black.

Malton then took the next five games through Simon Weatherill (48 break), Steve Beal, Roger Ward, Dan Pawson and Phil Hart.

Bootham ‘B’ held on to third place with a 4-3 success over their ‘A’ team, but the match was only decided on the final black.

John Darley and Rob Barron put the ‘A’ team 2-0 up, but Paul Mahoney and Paul Scorfield levelled.

Colin Robinson regained the lead for the ‘A’ team only for Matt Smith (24 break) to make it 3-3.

Paul Powell won the last game and the match on the final black to move Bootham ‘A’ down one place to fourth.

Acomb ‘A’ surprised Heworth ‘A’ as Andy Stone and Jeff Winter defeated Kevin Gall and Nick Dyson respectively, but that was as good as it got for Acomb.

Mark Winskill, Gary Douglas, Neil Wood (24, 35 breaks), Adam Scaife and Steve Burdett (respotted black) earned Heworth a 5-2 victory which moved them up one place to fifth and they have two games in hand on the leaders, although they are 14 points adrift.

Dyson’s defeat dropped him to fourth in the Worthington player of the year competition, but Weatherill moved into the lead with ten wins in 12 games with Fulford’s Andy Marshall in second, with ten wins in 13 games.

Malton’s Lee Taylor continues to lead in the Pasema Paving highest break contested with his 66 break, while Gall is second with a run of 65.