THE Rugby Football League (RFL) have confirmed the structure of the 2024 season for Betfred Championship and Betfred League One clubs, including a new, expanded format for the AB Sundecks 1895 cup.

York Knights currently play in the Championship, and after rumours of the division merging with League One, the format of the two leagues for the 2024 season has now been confirmed by the RFL. 

The Championship will continue as a 14-team division with the top six finishing in the play-offs, ending in a Grand Final which will be played at the highest seeding side.

Clubs in both league, including the Knights, have been invited to join a forum to consider the structure of the divisions below the Betfred Super League for 2025 and beyond, in order to provide clarity around promotion and relegation between the divisions.

The 1895 cup has also had a re-shuffle, with the 13-based English Championship sides joining eight League One clubs, with Cornwall offering to not participate, in seven groups of three.

The groups will be regionalised with the League One clubs hosting the Championship clubs, with the top two of the groups qualifying for the quarter-finals. 

The full fixture list of the 1895 cup will be released on Sunday, December 3, with the first round of fixtures taking place on the weekend of January 27. 

Quarter-finals will be played on March 3, semi-finals on May 12 and the final at Wembley Stadium on June 8. 

York will be hoping to go further than they did last campaign after their semi-final defeat to Batley Bulldogs at the LNER Community Stadium, losing 22-8.