YORK City Knights missed out on the individual gongs at last night's Kingstone Press Championship and League One awards ceremony - but the club did not go home empty-handed.

James Ford had been shortlisted for the League One Coach of the Year award, with Ash Robson and Liam Harris both up for the Young Player of the Year gong.

However, the former went to Whitehaven player-boss Carl Forster - six days before the two go head-to-head in Sunday's play-off semi-final in Cumbria - while the latter went to Newcastle Thunder half-back Lewis Young.

The Knights, nevertheless, were selected for the League One Project of the Year award for their #UpTheKneets social media campaign which helped to generate the team's biggest home crowd since 2009 and make them easily the best supported club in the division barring moneybags champions Toronto Wolfpack.

This was the second time Ford had missed out on the coach's accolade, having also been shortlisted in 2015 after taking the team to the play-offs despite the club being rendered homeless by off-the-field strife.

His side also finished fourth this year despite last year's off-field crises which saw the club, under new ownership, effectively start from scratch in December.

Former Super League prop Forster, 25, the youngest coach in pro rugby league, meanwhile, has led Haven to third place in his rookie season as boss.

Paul Crarey, whose Barrow team finished second, also missed out, while Paul Rowley, coach of full-time team Toronto, was not even shortlisted.

The new Canadian outfit were rewarded, though, as captain Craig Hall, the leading goal and points scorer in the competition, was named Player of the Year, while they also took the League One Club of the Year gong after averaging crowds of over 7,000 in their maiden season.

The plush ceremony took place at The Midland Hotel, in Manchester.

Of the Knights' gong, the Rugby Football League statement said: "The Project of the Year award recognises clubs who have shown an outstanding commitment to meeting the objectives of raising the visibility and profile of the competition and increasing attendance at one or more games through a special project.

"York City Knights were selected for their #UpTheKneets social media campaign which aimed to increase awareness and attendance at their home game against Toronto Wolfpack.

"York created a series of short videos with the match details with current players but also Super League stars from across the game that were shared through social media channels.

"The campaign generated York’s highest match attendance of the season with over 2,600 spectators."

The Knights also finished the league campaign with a four-figure average attendance up more than 80 per cent on last season.

Hull KR captain Shaun Lunt took the night's top gong, crowned Championship Player of the Year after leading his side to the League Leader’s trophy and back up to Super League via the Qualifiers. Rovers were also the Championship Club of the Year.

London Broncos boss Andrew Henderson was voted the Championship Coach of the Year after his side secured a Qualifiers position.

Featherstone received the Championship Project award for their Sky Try programme in schools.

The Foundation of the Year award went to Newcastle.

The player, young player, and coach of the year award winners are selected by a poll of every coach in the Championship and League One.

The 2017 Kingstone Press Championship and League 1 award winners in full:

Championship Player of the Year: Shaun Lunt (Hull Kingston Rovers)

Championship Young Player of the Year: James Bentley (Bradford Bulls)

Championship Coach of the Year: Andrew Henderson (London Broncos)

League 1 Player of the Year: Craig Hall (Toronto Wolfpack)

League 1 Young Player of the Year: Lewis Young (Newcastle Thunder)

League 1 Coach of the Year: Carl Forster (Whitehaven RLFC)

Championship Club of the Year: Hull Kingston Rovers

League 1 Club of the Year: Toronto Wolfpack

Championship Project of the Year: Featherstone Rovers

League 1 Project of the Year: York City Knights

Foundation of the Year: Newcastle Thunder

Supporters Direct Community Champion: Ray Abbey