KEITH Lowe finished the season as The Press' runaway Player of the Year winner with former Cheltenham team-mate Russell Penn collecting the final Player of the Month award.

Centre-back Lowe, who only joined the Minstermen in mid-November, was seven points clear of nearest rival John McCombe at the top of the standings with Josh Carson ending the campaign third despite suffering cruciate knee ligament damage in March.

Penn, meanwhile, won his second monthly award following his arrival at Bootham Crescent during the January transfer window.

The 28-year-old midfielder edged out Lanre Oyebanjo by a point to take the honours for May, having also collected the March accolade.

He picked up the award after claiming a maximum five point-haul from the play-off, semi-final, second leg 0-0 draw at Fleetwood as The Press' man of the match and also the choice of visitors to our website and the @daveflett Twitter account.

The other points went to Nick Pope (two) and John McCombe (one) as our second and third-highest rated performers respectively.

In the first leg against Fleetwood, Oyebanjo also received a maximum five points with Calvin Andrew (two) and Pope (one) recognised for their efforts too.

Along with Penn, Oyebanjo (August and December) and McCombe (February and April) both carried away two monthly awards during the season.

The other winners were Ryan Brobbel (September), Carson (October), Luke O'Neill (November) and Wes Fletcher (January).

Surprisingly, Lowe did not feature on the monthly honours board.

The Press Player of the Year final standings: Lowe 35 points, McCombe 28, Carson 26, Oyebanjo 25, Fletcher 21, Coulson 18, McGurk 18, Davies 15, Pope 15, O’Neill 14, Penn 14, Brobbel 11, Montrose 11, Jarvis 9, Parslow 8, Ingham 7, Smith 7, Bowman 5, Chambers 5, Andrew 4, Clay 4, Hayhurst 3, Reed 3, Puri 2, Whitehouse 2, Kettings 1.

The Press Player of the Month for May final standings: Penn 6, Oyebanjo 5, Andrew 3, Davies 3, Pope 3, Lowe 2, Hayhurst 1, McCombe 1.

Goals: Fletcher 13, Jarvis 9, Bowman 8, Coulson 7, Carson 5, Brobbel 4, McCombe 3, Own goals 2, Andrew 1, Hayhurst 1, Lowe 1, McGurk 1, Montrose 1, O’Neill 1.

Assists: Bowman 7, Coulson 7, Carson 6, Hayhurst 5, O’Neill 5, Brobbel 3, Fletcher 3, Jarvis 3, Oyebanjo 3, Clay 2, Davies 2, McGurk 2, Smith 2, Cresswell 1, Fyfield 1, Ingham 1, McCombe 1, Montrose 1, Penn 1, Reed 1.

Bad boys: Montrose 11 yellow cards; Oyebanjo seven yellow; Whitehouse six yellow; Carson, Lowe both five yellow; Bowman two red, two yellow; McCombe, O’Neill, Penn, Smith all four yellow; Coulson, Davies, Hayhurst, McGurk, Reed all three yellow; Cresswell one red, one yellow; Andrew, Fyfield, Jarvis, Platt all two yellow; Chambers, Clay, Parslow all one yellow.