HEWORTH ARLC will kick off their National Conference League division two season with a home tie against last season's surprise package, Millom.

York Acorn, meanwhile, will begin their division one campaign with an intriguing tie on the road, away to relegated Oldham St Anne's.

The National Conference premier division season starts on August 18, but divisions one and two don't kick off until September 1.

Both Heworth and Millom enjoyed their best seasons in several years last time out.

Heworth were among the front-runners in division two until around Christmas time, eventually finishing seventh. Cumbrians Millom - the oldest amateur rugby league club in the world - rose to fifth last term, just three points off the promotion places.

The York club were given a boost recently when Chris Smith and Paul Newlove, the former Super League pair, agreed to continue as the coaching team.

Acorn, who finished last season in eighth having overcome a poor run at the start of the season, have another potentially tough opener this time around.

Hosts St Anne's were dumped out of the premier division last term with just one win in 26 games, but will be looking to regroup in the lower tier.

Acorn will also go into the season without key men of recent years, such as Andy Gargan, Johnny Waldron and Kyle Palmer, who are all now on semi-professional terms with York City Knights, but coach Alfie Hill, without them for much of last season, will perhaps look to unearth more gems from the junior set-up.

Their first home game of term is also against new opposition, with Saddleworth Rangers, who were promoted from division two in third place, visiting Thanet Road on September 8.

Acorn are also scheduled to finish with a probable toughie, away to noted Cumbrian club Wath Brow Hornets, who were surprisingly relegated from the premier division last term.

Both Acorn and Heworth have free dates in the league schedule on September 15 and January 12, though these may be used for postponed games.

The league have also arranged several backlog dates in case of postponements from March 15 to April 19.

National Conference League

Division 1

York Acorn

01 Oldham St Anne's (A) 2.30pm
08 Saddleworth Rangers (H)2.30pm
22 Bradford Dudley Hill (H) 2.30pm
29 Ince Rose Bridge (A) 2.30pm

06 Eccles & Salford Juniors (H) 2.30pm
13 East Leeds (A) 2.30pm
20 Thatto Heath Crusaders (H) 2.30pm
27 Widnes St Maries (A) 2.30pm

03 Waterhead (A) 2pm
10 Wigan St Judes (H) 2pm
17 Shaw Cross Sharks (A) 2pm
24 Wath Brow Hornets (H) 2pm

01 Bradford Dudley Hill (A) 2pm
08 Ince Rose Bridge (H) 2pm
29 East Leeds (H) 2pm

05 Eccles & Salford Juniors (A) 2pm
19 Saddleworth Rangers (A) 2pm
26 Oldham St Anne's (H) 2pm

02 Thatto Heath Crusaders (A)
09 Widnes St Maries (H) 2pm
16 Waterhead (H) 2pm
23 Wigan St Judes (A) 2pm

08 Wath Brow Hornets (A) 2pm

National Conference League

Division 2


01 Millom (H) 2.30pm
08 Crosfields (A) 2.30pm
22 Brighouse Rangers (A) 2.30pm
29 Normanton Knights (H) 2.30pm

06 Milford Marlins (A) 2.30pm
13 Hull Isberg (H) 2.30pm
20 Egremont Rangers (A) 2.30pm
27 Askham (H) 2.30pm

03 Ovenden (H) 2pm
10 Castleford Lock Lane (A) 2pm
17 Stanley Rangers (H) 2pm
24 Stanningley (A) 2pm

01 Brighouse Rangers (H) 2pm
08 Normanton Knights (A) 2pm
29 Hull Isberg (A) 2pm

05 Milford Marlins (H) 2pm
19 Crosfields (A) 2pm
26 Millom (A) 2pm

02 Egremont Rangers (H) 2pm
09 Askam (A) 2pm
16 Ovenden (A) 2pm
23 Castleford Lock Lane (H) 2pm

01 Stanley Rangers (A) 2.30pm
08 Stanningley (H) 2.30pm