DAVID Lloyd York continued their winning start to their defence of the Tyke Petroleum Men’s League title with a 60-48 win over last year’s runners-up Wigginton.

A 23-game haul by Jan Dyl and Dale Fawcett proved the key to victory.

The David Lloyd club followed that up with a 70-38 triumph over Copmanthorpe as Fawcett teamed up with Will Hart to bag 30 games.

Wigginton’s fine 76-32 win over York, featuring 30 games from Ben Walker and James Shaw and 26 from Phil Langley and James Denmark, keeps them in a close second place.

Wigginton 2 have gone top of division two following a narrow 57-51 win over Boston Spa, while Starbeck had a convincing 81-27 success over Poppleton 2, with 32 games for David Tripp and Chris Metcalfe and 30 for Robin Womersley and Mike Fox.

Division three saw York 2 triumph 88-20 over Alne and Tollerton with a near flawless 32 games from Jake Lonsdale and Neil Johnson one of the


David Lloyd Harrogate 2 had the narrowest possible victory, prevailing 55-53 over neighbours Racquets 2.

Top pair Jarrod Robinson and Andy Cousins came out on top 19-17, with the other pairs - Matt Waters and Piers Forster and Nick Boid

and Jonny Kaye - each drawing 18-18.

Wigginton 3 had an excellent 81-27 victory at Knaresborough in

division four.

An all-round team effort saw 28-game totals for both the first two pairs, Nick O’Keefe and Zoltan Siba and Scott Farquhar and Kev

Fairclough, with 25 from Ben King and Dom Wright.

Harrogate Spa had a tight 55-53 win over Copmanthorpe 2, while Wetherby 2 and Rowntree Park 2 secured decisive victories over Strensall and Starbeck 2 respectively.

Joint division five leaders David Lloyd 3 and York 3 both found the going tough in their latest matches, with the former drawing against Appleton Roebuck 2 and the latter narrowly overcoming Rufforth 57-51.

Another 57-51 scoreline against Sutton-Upon-Derwent saw Pocklington secure an early lead in division six.

Pocklington’s win came despite 23 games from Sutton’s James Sweeting and James Turner.

Boston Spa beat Bishopthorpe 66-42 thanks largely to 31 games from Marc Mottershead and Gordon Milne, while Wilberfoss 2 triumphed 62-46 over Wigginton 4, as John Latham and Tony Downing with 28 games.

A 31-game total from Andrew Frank and David Hull helped Sheriff Hutton hit top spot in division seven after a 66-42 victory over Harrogate Spa 2.

Wheldrake were 62-46 victors over Cawood thanks to 20 games for Stephen Murtagh and Don Grant, 20 for Phil Singleton and Paul Butler and 22 for David and Andrew Murtagh.

In division eight, Wigginton 5 lost 81-24 to David Lloyd 4.

Leaders Dunnington saw off New Earswick 63-45.