JOSEPH BOOTH powered to victory on his York & District Road Race League debut at Tadcaster.

Booth (York Knavesmire Harriers) pulled away from Chris Poulton (York Acorn) in the final 2km of the 10km race to take the men’s spoils.

Charlotte Mason was the women’s winner after seeing off the challenge of City of York teammate Emma Ballantyne and Knavesmire’s Nik Tarrega.

York St John University student Booth and race one winner Poulton had opened up a decent gap on the chasing pack by halfway, but the former found another gear in the closing stages.

Booth clocked 33 minutes 50 seconds, with Poulton crossing the line in 34.08. Acorn’s Robin Stacey completed the podium in 34.43.

David Smithers (Knavesmire) was fourth home in 34.59, pipping Acorn’s John Yoward (35.03) for the vet 40 men’s honours in the process. Peter Pearson (Knavesmire) was sixth in 35.07.

Mason impressed in her first league outing of the year, taking the women’s spoils in 37.47, while Ballantyne (38.01) moved up a place from last time out at Pocklington.

Tarrega clocked 38.09 and was two minutes clear of fourth-placed Katy Wood (City of York).

Pocklington’s Katie Wise was fifth in 41.23, taking the V35 women’s honours ahead of sixth-placed Paula Fenteman (Selby Striders), who clocked 42.04.

Natalie Greaves (Knavesmire) was the third V35 woman home in 42.06.

Just behind her in 42.13 was the leading V45 woman, Anne Blackwell - another Knavesmire athlete - who also achieved the honour at Pocklington.

Katherine Jeffreys (Knavesmire) and Sharon Lynn (Acorn) were second and third in the age group, running 45.28 and 45.42 respectively.

Knavesmire’s Jet Jon Shepherd (45.56) made it two V55 women’s wins in a row, ahead of clubmates Kathryn Dickinson (46.15) and Jane Nodder (49.54).

Mary Farmery (Knavesmire) and Kathy Taylor (Pocklington) were again the first two V65 women across the line, clocking 53.21 and 57.59 respectively. Knavesmire’s Liz Piper (1.00.00) was third in the age group.

With Smithers and Yoward well clear, Acorn’s Paul Whitaker (36.13) was the third V40 man home.

Pickering’s Simon Jones took the V50 men’s honours in 38.18, ahead of Pocklington’s Graham Justice (39.17) and Easingwold’s Colin Fletcher (39.34).

The V60 men’s event saw the same top three as at Pocklington, with Acorn’s Stephen Boynton (40.02) again heading clubmate David Lancaster (41.34) and York Postal Harriers’ Bill Shively (41.45).

There was also an exact repeat among the V70 runners where Pickering’s Michael Hetherton (47.40) took the spoils, in front of Knavesmire’s David l’Anson (53.05) and Acorn’s Mike Tasker (56.00).

Booth led Knavesmire to first place in the men’s team standings, with round one winners City of York slipping to third behind Acorn.

The women’s team event saw City of York take first place, ahead of Knavesmire and Selby.