NEW Yorkshire Indoor Bowls League division one champions York beat last season's champions North Cave 99-65 in their final game of term.

York's home rinks won in style with the away two drawn.

Mal Lewars, Graham Brooke, Craig Newton and Tony Horobin triumphed 35-4, while Neal Macdonald, Phil Parsons, Jeff Normanton and Phil Emmerson, despite dropping a five on their first end, won 22-18.

Away, Jack Woodworth, Alan Hampshire, John Crowe and Dave Stroughair trailed 19-10 with five ends to play but won the lot and scraped a draw with a three on the last.

Alan Vowles, Mick Cooney, John Whiteley and Jack Bird also drew 23-23 after picking up a two then a single at the death.

York now play in the end-of-season Challenge Cup on March 16, joined by runners-up Hornsea, third-placed North Cave and second division champions Redcar.

Elsewhere, New Earswick 'A' and 'B' enjoyed a double over York 'B' and 'C' as the teams completed their campaigns in divisions two and three respectively.

New Earswick 'A' beat York 'B' 77-66.

At Earswick, the hosts' Dave Furness, Jim Pinder, Ralph Tiplady and Colin Pickup beat K Simpson, P Riley, G Fennell and Dave Dale 28-13, whereas team-mates Rob Domville, Gary Jones, Rod Walker and Andrew Fothergill lost 21-17 to Stuart Smith, Allen Clapham, Malcolm Harrison and Alan Smith.

At Thanet Road, York's K Griffiths, Pete Waring, Ray Calpin and Mal Thompson pipped John Harrison, Brian Birch, Mick Head and Bill Waldie 17-15, but Earswick's Bob Elliot, Dave Clayden, Brian Gray and Kevin Liddell scored a three at the last to beat Harvey Wenham, Eric Hodgson, D White and Geoff Walker 17-15. New Earswick took 10 points and York four.

In division three, Earswick 'B' beat York 'C' 85-78, collecting 11 points to York's three.

At Earswick, Dave Thompson, Dave Toms, Dave Sykes and Dick Osguthorpe beat Wally Darbyshire, Mal Rankeillor, Trevor Scott and Ray Clark 21-19 after a ding-dong encounter, while Joe Barker, Brian Hutton, Barry Harrison and Eric Cookson scored an early six en route to a 23-12 win over Colin Robinson, Noel Mallinder, Dave Preece and Mick Snowden.

At York, Earswick's Dave Imeson, Bill Nuckey, Steve Hudson and Alwyn Anderson lost 23-15 to Andy Lockwood, J Walter, D Clarke and T Bryan, while Gordon Fratson, Dave Crane, Graham Lockwood and Vic Thompson drew a see-saw game with Alan Braithwaite, Dennis Walls, Paul Craven and Gordon Walker 24-24.

Before the games, a minute's silence was held in memory of Dave Kermode, the popular New Earswick and former York player who sadly died last weekend.

Meanwhile, Selby pipped New Earswick Falcons 78-76 in the Falcons' last Yorkshire Over-55s League match of term.

At Earswick, the hosts' Bill Nuckey, Bob Elliot, Brian Birch and Mick Head came from 13-3 down to beat I Robb's team 25-10, while Eric Cookson, Barry Harrison, Colin Ellis and Ralph Tiplady, having been 13-13 with G Whitehead's rink, won 23-17.

However, at Selby, Dave Furness, Vic Thompson, Alwyn Anderson and Bill Waldie lost 23-17 to A Longfield, and Dave Imeson, Dave Sykes, Graham Lockwood and Barry Johnson lost 22-11 to J Phillips.

Selby took 10 points and Earswick four.

On Saturday, the Yorkshire IBA president, Phil Parsons, hosts the Yorkshire Knockout Finals at Thanet Road, starting at 10am as Thornaby play York in the Triples, followed at 2pm by Thornaby versus North Cave in the Pairs and Harrogate versus Selby in the Mixed Pairs.

At 3pm Scarborough play York in the Junior Singles final with the Senior Singles between York and North Cave at 3.30pm.

Also on Saturday, at noon, York look to secure the Yorkshire Ladies' League title as they take on Scarborough.

The County Knockout Finals continue on Sunday with Redcar versus York in the Singles at 10.30am, and Redcar versus Thornaby in the Fours at 1.30pm.