EIGHTY-EIGHT players competed for 22 trophies at this year's York Closed Table Tennis Championships - with University of York student Tsz Chung Tang the big winner in the Men's Singles.

The championships, sponsored by GMBU, were held the York RI Gymnasium.

Tang defeated Yoni Caspi, of Topspin York, in the final.

He raced 7-3 up in the first game and won it 11-9 after Caspi had rallied to pull back to 9-9.

The early stages of the second were very even and the scores were locked at 7-7. Tang then won four straight points to take the game.

Tang led 7-2 in the third. Caspi pulled back to 7-6 but then Tang won the next three to give him three championship points. Caspi saved one but Tang won the next to win the game and the title.

Caspi had dropped one set in defeating team-mate Jon Wooldridge in his semi-final, while Tang overcame defending champion Martin Lowe (Coneysthorpe) in a very close affair which went to a deciding game.

This was the first time Lowe had not reached the Men’s Singles final since he joined the York League in 2004-2005 - a run that has seen him win 10 and lose four.

Fourteen-year-old Moke Warburton (Coneysthorpe) won three events.

She took the Ladies’ Singles title, defeating Ruth Purseglove (Ryedale at RI) 3-0 in the final, and teamed up with Cathy Garnsworthy (York RI) to win the Ladies’ Doubles final in straight sets against the University pairing of Daria Golubova and Tia Louise Payne.

Then with Lowe she won the Mixed Doubles, again 3-0 in the final against Purseglove and Adam Ridley (Topspin York).

The Men’s Doubles final was an all-Topspin affair, with James Atkins and Will Whattam coming back from a set down to defeat Nathan Taylor and Wooldridge 3-1.

Sammy Kelly (Topspin) defeated team-mate Will Whattam in a close Juniors’ (under-18s) Singles final which went to a deciding set - Kelly taking it 11-5.

Sam Lowe (Coneysthorpe) retained the Cadets (U15s) Singles, defeating Warburton.

Warburton came back from two sets down to level the match but Lowe took the decider 11-3.

Mia Longman (Coneysthorpe) won the U11s’ Singles, defeating Harry Male (Wigginton & Haxby) in the final.

Sam Lowe teamed up with Arthur Sorley (Shiyi Ling) to win the Juniors’ Doubles, defeating Kelly and Adam Stone (Millthorpe) in straight sets in the final.

Meanwhile, Martin Lowe defeated Jon Wooldridge in a very close Veterans’ (over-40s) Singles final which also went to a deciding set.

Wooldridge and Richard Crowther (York RI) defeated last year’s winners, John Farmery and Martin Hood (both Clarence TTC), in the Veterans’ Doubles final in straight sets.

Farmery, though, won the Over-55s’ Singles, beating Mick Wilcockson (York RI) 3-0 in the final.

Keith Webster (Shepherds) retained the Over-70s’ title, defeating team-mate Peter Harpham 3-1 in the final.

The divisional singles titles were won by Joe Wright (Topspin York, Div 1), Stephen Temple (Ryedale at RI, Div 2), Sam Crutchley (Wigginton & Haxby, Div 3) and Ian Oxborough (Wigginton & Haxby, Div 4).

Filip Wojtkowiak (York RI) retained the Hardbat Singles title, defeating Wooldridge in the final.

Wojtkowiak teamed up with Doug Muirhead (University) to win the Hardbat Doubles. They defeated Joe Wright (Topspin) and Ryan Jowsey (Shiyi Ling) in the final.

The Mixed Plate was won by Tom Thorp (Shiyi Ling). Ridley (Topspin) won the Handicap Singles, and Steve Cameron and Mark Hodgson (both Wigginton & Haxby) won the Handicap Doubles.

The main sponsors were GMB. Sponsors of other events were friends of the association.