TOP seed Martin Lowe retained the Men's Singles title at this year's York Closed Table Tennis Championships held at the York RI Gym.

In total, 82 players competed for 21 trophies, Coneysthorpe ace Lowe defeating Joe Wright, of Topspin York, in the final of the top men's comp.

It was Lowe's 10th singles title, while second seed Wright was playing in his first final.

Wright stormed into a 4-1 lead in the first game, but Lowe came back to lead 7-5. Wright rallied to level at 7-7 but Lowe won the next four points to take the game. He then took complete control of the match, winning the next two games by 11-2 and 11-4.

In the semi-finals Lowe defeated fourth seed University's Calum Goodwin in straight sets while Wright had a tougher battle against third seed and team-mate Yoni Caspi, winning the fifth and deciding game.

University student Cancan Zhang won the Ladies’ Singles, defeating Millthorpe's Rachel Langhorn in the final. Top seed Zhang started strongly and took a 7-1 lead in the first game, but Langhorn fought back to level at 8-8. She saved two game points from 8-10 down but eventually lost 10-12. Zhang then comfortably took the second game 11-2, before winning a closer third 11-6.

Wright and Caspi teamed up as top seeds to win the Men’s Doubles final in straight sets against Lowe and clubmate Joel Wright, who were seeded second.

Top seeds Zhang and Marian Broadbent of BT won the Ladies’ Doubles, defeating York RI's Anne Barnard and Andrea Potter from Clarence TTC 3-1 in the final.

Broadbent teamed up with Clarence TTC's Aidan Ranftler to win the Mixed Doubles. The top seeds beat University's Tia-Louise Payne and Calum Goodwin 3-1 in the final.

Mikey Arnold (York RI) defeated Will Whattam (Topspin York) 3-0 in the final of the Juniors’ (under 18s) Singles.

Sam Lowe (Coneysthorpe) won the Cadets (under 15s) Singles, defeating Arthur Sorley (York RI) in a reverse of last year’s final. A close match, the first four games were shared and won by only two points, before Lowe took the decider 11-6.

Sorley teamed up with Adam Stone (Millthorpe) to win the Juniors’ Doubles final, coming back from two sets and four match points down in the fourth against Matthew Lowe (Coneysthorpe) and Jacob Martindale (York RI).

Martin Lowe defeated Jeff Cohen (York RI) in straight sets in the Veterans’ (over-40s) Singles final.

John Farmery and Martin Hood (both Clarence TTC) defeated Richard Crowther and Andy Kirk (both York RI) in the Veterans’ Doubles final, also in straight sets.

Cohen won the Over-55s’ Singles, beating defending champion Farmery 3-2 in the final.

Keith Webster won the inaugural Over-70s’ Singles event.

The divisional singles titles were won by Ranftler (division one), Ben Lockyer (York RI, division two), Peter Smalley (York RI, division three) and Doug Muirhead (University, division four).

Filip Wojtkowiak (York RI) defeated Mikey Arnold in the final of the Hardbat Singles.

The Hardbat Doubles was won by Joe Wright and Muirhead against Peter Cowburn (University) and Tim Smith (York RI).

Richard McCarthy (York RI) won the Mixed Plate.

Mikey Arnold won the Handicap Singles, while Russ Barton (Poppleton) and Adam Ridley (Topspin York) won the Handicap Doubles.

The main sponsors of the tournament were GMB. Sponsors of other events were friends of the Association. Thanks to all sponsors for their support.