FULFORD 'A' stayed top of the York Conservative Clubs' Snooker League after a hard-fought 4-3 victory over Acomb 'B' 4-3.

Sam Parkinson got them off to a good start beating Chris Nicholson, but wins for Nick Goodacre over Tom Wilson and Andy Stone, on the black ball over previously unbeaten Dave Reed, put Acomb 2-1 up.

Fulford replied by taking the next two frames with Sam England defeating Brian Henry and Russ Shaw beating Kevin Ventress.

Jeff Winter, with breaks of 30 and 21, beat Fulford captain Tom Lewis (24 break) to level again, but Jamie Husband beat Jon Milner to seal Fulford's victory.

Heworth 'A' could not cut the gap as they could only manage a 4-3 victory over Bootham 'B'.

Two other unbeaten records were lost as Heworth's Richard Burdett fell to Matt Smith and Bootham's Paul Mahoney was beaten by Gary Douglas.

Mark Winskill starred for Heworth with a break of 57 in victory over Paul Powell, while John Dowd and Steve Burdett beat Ian Robinson and Andy Proud respectively to complete Heworth's victory. In reply, Chris Thompson and Lionel Barnes beat Kevin Gall and James Kilmartin.

Acomb 'A' rose to third as they beat Fulford 'B' 5-2.

Captain Richard Lillie got Acomb off to a good start, defeating Dean Smith, but Fulford's Mo Mohammed levelled by beating Tim Lister.

Wins for Keith Thornhill over Phil Cooke and Trevor Ventress against Bob Smith put Acomb 3-1 up. Fulford's Alan Reed took pink and black to defeat Nick Marchant, but further wins for Paul Holmes and Mick Borg against Aaron Spiers and Lee Elveridge sealed Acomb's victory.

Heworth 'B' could only field five players and Bootham 'A' duly won 5-2.

After two walkovers, Rob Barron (25 break) beat Dave Beattie to make it 3-0, before Peter Rivis got Heworth on the board with excellent safety play and good potting against Neal Brown.

Tim Fillingham managed a black-ball victory over John Sherlock and Andy Wynn beat Andy Ogley, before Andi Ireland defeated Barry Rankin to give Heworth their second point.