A GLITTERING array of trophies greeted the winners and attendees at the annual general meeting and presentation evening of the Tyke Petroleum Men's Tennis League, hosted for the first time at the Wilberfoss Pavilion.

The league's long-time sponsor, Derek Boorman, presented the trophies to all eight division winners, with Pat Evans accepting the division one trophy to complete a treble of successive men's league championships for Poppleton Tennis Club.

Hosts Wilberfoss returned record figures to win the division five title and were the only unbeaten team in the men's league this year. They have been promoted to division three next season.

The AGM unanimously reelected David Moore as chairman and welcomed John Petler and Alan Wilkinson, both of Bishopthorpe Tennis Club, as new joint league secretaries.

The league also warmly welcomed back three-time former champions New Earswick. They will rejoin in division eight for 2018, and compete on their brand new courts.

Trophy successes this year has bolstered membership at Strensall and Harrogate Spa, who will both enter second teams into the men's competition next season.

With 33 clubs and 61 teams, there are still three vacancies available for a full complement of eight divisions in 2018.