FULFORD 'A' went six points clear at the top of the York Conservative Clubs Snooker League after beating their 'B' team 5-2.

Sam Parkinson got them off to a winning start by taking the first frame, defeating Phil Cooke, before Aaron Spiers levelled the match by beating Cameron Fennell.

David Reed had a hard-fought victory over the 'B' team's Andy Marshall to keep his unbeaten run going, but it was level again as Alan Reed defeated Sam England.

The last two frames to be played, though, went the 'A' team's way via Tristan Owen and Tom Lewis as they defeated Lee Elderidge and Bob Smith respectively, with the last frame going to the 'A' team too as their opponents were a man short.

Acomb 'A' held on to third place despite going down 4-3 to Bootham 'A'.

Bootham won the first two frames as Andy Wynn beat Nick Marchant and Tim Fillingham beat Richard Lillie. Keith Thornhill (24 break) pulled one back for Acomb, defeating Rob Barron, but Bootham's Colin Robinson and Neal Brown got the better of Paul Holmes and Trevor Ventress to seal the victory.

Wins for Phil Carlton over Barry Rankin and Mick Borg against Stuart Martel kept Acomb in touch with the league leaders.

Heworth 'B' had a comfortable win over Malton, running out 5-2 victors. Heworth's winners were Dave Beattie, John McCready, John Sherlock, Andy Hurley and Andy Ogley, with replies coming from Chris Atkinson and Phil Hart.

Bootham 'B' lost 4-3 to Acomb 'B'. Kevin Ventress and Nick Goodacre beat Matt Smith and Chris Thompson respectively to put Acomb two up, before Ian Robinson and Lionel Barnes hit back to level with wins over Chris Nicholson and Brian Henry.

Paul Mahoney kept up his unbeaten run as he put Bootham 3-2 up, beating Steve Rodgers, but Acomb finished strongly, winning the last two frames as Andy Stone beat Paul Powell and Jon Milner defeated Andy Proud.