THE University of York and York Disability Tennis Network were the major winners at the third annual Active York Sports Awards.

University of York students and staff scooped four of the 14 awards at Thursday night's ceremony at the Roger Kirk Centre on the Heslington campus, while the tennis network had a hand in three winners.

The university's futsal club were named team of the year for their efforts in reaching the pinnacle of the sport in this country.

Great Britain rower Steph Clutterbuck won the Student Sportsperson of the Year award and Helena Mullineaux was Volunteer of the Year for her work with the University of York Boat Club. The university staff claimed the Active Workplace accolade.

York Disability Tennis Network star Laura Campbell retained her Disabled Sportsperson of the Year crown after winning two golds at the Special Olympics World Games in Los Angeles.

Her mentor, Andy Crockett, was named Coach of the Year, and Dawn Hunter's work with wheelchair tennis players earned her the Active York award.

England shot put ace Scott Lincoln, of City of York Athletic Club, retained the Sportsman of the Year title after a superb 2015 campaign, and York City Rowing Club star Sally Downing was named Sportswoman of the Year.

City of York Athletic Club javelin thrower George Davies won Young Male Sportsperson of the Year, while Clifton Cycling Club's Lauryn Dawber was Young Female Sportsperson of the Year.

Table tennis player Ben Robinson took the Young Disabled Sportsperson of the Year prize, and the Active School award went to St Wilfrid's Primary School.

Rugby league stalwart Stuart Evans was awarded the Outstanding Contribution accolade for his decades of service to the sport as an official, plus his work as unofficial historian for York City Knights.

The awards were organised by Active York – the city’s sport and active leisure partnership working to encourage people to be more active more often – and backed by The Press.

Last night's awards ceremony, which was hosted by the BBC’s Tanya Arnold, was attended by 250 people from sporting organisations across the city.


2016 Active York Sports Awards Roll of Honour

Young Male Sportsperson (sponsored by Quickslide) – George Davies

Young Female Sportsperson (sponsored by The Press) – Lauryn Dawber

Young Disabled Sportsperson (sponsored by Yormed) – Ben Robinson

Sportsman of the Year (sponsored by Preston Baker) – Scott Lincoln

Sportswoman of the Year (sponsored by Askham Bryan College) - Sally Downing

Disabled Sportsperson (sponsored by SPSC) – Laura Campbell

Coach of the Year (sponsored by North Yorkshire Sport) – Andy Crockett

Active Workplace (sponsored by Benenden) – University of York

Active School (sponsored by York Sport Village) – St Wilfrid’s Primary School

Active in York (sponsored by GLL) – Dawn Hunter

Team/Club of the Year (sponsored by York City Football Club Foundation) – University of York Futsal Club

Student Sportsperson (sponsored by ARUP) – Steph Clutterbuck

Volunteer of the Year (sponsored by Phoenix Software) – Helena Mullineaux

Outstanding Contribution (sponsored by City of York Council) – Stuart Evans