YORK Knavesmire Harriers finished the 2014 West Yorkshire Cross Country in style, winning the John E Smith Trophy for 2014 at Nunroyd Park in Leeds.

Andrea Lancaster lead the team home with a 17th place, Cassie Holmes took 24th, ladies’ captain Kirsty Vogan grabbed 31st and Caroline Warrington took the final team place in 42nd. Liz Matthews was 70th.

The ladies overall came in fourth team place over the season with Lancaster first in the ladies’ 40 category.

In the men’s race, Kim Critchley had his best race of the season to take second place. Men’s captain Chris Roberts was 27th, Simon Collins 41st, super veteran Barry Atkinson 54th, Rory Henderson 67th and Darren Hendley 98th.

Other Knavesmire Harriers to finish were Danny Chan 99th, Richard Terrega 121st, and Ian Bithell in 141st.

Overall for the season, Critchley took was first in the men’s 40 and Bithell second in men’s 65.