RUN machine Mark Earle will pick up his second successive batting award at the HPH York Vale Cricket League presentation event tonight.

The Westow opener amassed 952 runs in the season to win the Les Kirby Award for aggregate runs scored. Last year he topped the division one averages with 61.18.

That figure was surpassed this year by Ovington’s Craig Nicholl, whose 10 not-outs enabled him to average 99.50 for the champions.

Earle’s team-mate, Jacob Stephenson, led the division one bowling averages with 11.00. The Les Kirby award for most wickets taken will go to Craig Lawson of Kelfield, who claimed 39.

The Harry Smith Wicketkeeping award went to Charlie Wilson, of Stamford Bridge, who bagged 20 dismissals.

Apart from the divisional and cup winners, four major award winners will also be unveiled on the night – the Scothern Construction Club of the Year, Gem Construction Young Player of the Year, Hall of Fame inductee and the Jelf Insurance Cricket Tea of the Year.

Shortlisted for the young player award are Harry Griffiths (Dunnington), Jack Heartshorne (Clifton Alliance) and Jack Arthur-Bagshaw (Stamford Bridge). Heartshorne and Arthur-Bagshaw were joint runners-up in 2016.

The awards evening also incorporates presentations for the Foss Evening League.

Chris Barrett, who skippered Heworth to the FEL division one title, was named the division’s Player of the Year after scoring more than 300 runs and claiming 22 dismissals behind the stumps.

The division two award went to Salman Syed, who scored 311 runs at an average of 62 for Retreat, and the division three award to Lee Wild, of Hemingbrough, who amassed 502 runs.

The awards night is at the Regen Centre, Riccall, and will be hosted by Andy Atkinson of BBC Radio York.

2017 Roll of honour

HPH York Vale League

Div 1 champions: Ovington

Div 2 champions: Thixendale

Div 3 champions: Bishopthorpe

HPH Cup winners: Kelfield

Scothern Construction Cup winners: Yapham

Mitchell Cup winners: Melbourne

Prendergast Memorial Trophy winners: Acomb

Div 3 batting: Ray Adamson (Burn) 58.57

Div 3 bowling: Matthew Sharples (Bishopthorpe) 8.26

Div 2 batting: Johnny Cockerill (Hemingbrough) 74.50

Div 2 bowling: Simon Rogerson (Ovington II) 11.00

Div 1 batting: Craig Nicholl (Ovington) 99.50

Div 1 bowling: Jacob Stephenson (Westow) 11.00

Les Kirby Awards - Batting: Mark Earle (Westow) 952 runs; Bowling - Craig Lawson (Kelfield) 39 wkts.

Harry Smith Wicketkeeping Award: Charlie Wilson (Stamford Bridge) 20 dismissals.

Foss Evening League

Div 1 champions: Heworth

Div 2 champions: York

Div 3 champions: Hemingbrough

Div 1 Player of the Year: Chris Barratt (Heworth)

Div 2 Player of the Year: Salman Syed (Retreat)

Div 3 Player of the Year: Lee Wild (Hemingbrough)