THE Pilmoor Evening League reached a dramatic conclusion on the final evening when Sheriff Hutton Bridge snatched the title.

It had seemingly been in Newburgh’s grasp, but the long-time leaders fell agonisingly short in their pursuit of Acomb’s 103, while Bridge easily overcame Clifton Alliance.

Newburgh travelled to Acomb in the knowledge that a win would confirm them as champions for the second successive season, and the home side were largely indebted to Joe Dale for their 103-8.

Coming in at the fall of the fifth wicket, Dale made an unbeaten 55, with the father and son Sargent combination doing most to keep the score in check, with Josh returning 2-19 and Jason 3 - 22.

Mark Mierzwinski (39) and James Banks (30no) did well in Newburgh's reply and, although Acomb bowled tidily, Newburgh looked well set with only 18 needed from the last three overs. A miserly penultimate over by Dale meant that eight were needed from the last over, which yielded only six as Newburgh closed on 102-3.

Bridge took advantage with a big win.

Connor Campbell made the highest individual score of the season, racking up an unbeaten 110, and with Paul Scaling making 68, Bridge closed on 201-1.

Alliance never threatened and, although Nic Hindle made 27 and Dan Skaith 25, they could only reach 105-8, with Ben Harrison (2-8), Nadeem Shefta (2-8) and Tom Magee (2-12) having the best returns for Bridge, who thus took the title after getting their noses in front when it mattered most.

Thirsk are relegated following a total capitulation at Sessay, while Helperby won at Dringhouses to make sure of their safety.

Thirsk's survival was dependent on a win and a slip up by one of their relegation rivals.

Sessay were given a fine start by Mark Jackson (80 off 59 balls) and Tom Wilkinson (32), and after Chris Till had chipped in with 23 not out, Sessay closed on 165-4.

Thirsk’s reply began with an initial assault by Stuart Christon, who took 12 from Liam Carver’s first three deliveries, but what followed was one of the most dramatic collapses in the league’s history.

In the space of 37 deliveries, they were dismissed for a further five runs, two of which were extras, with seven batsmen registering ducks.

Carver finished with 5-14, while Aaron Bumby also took five wickets at the cost of just one run as Thirsk were all out for 17 in 7.1 overs.

Helperby had sizeable contributions from Dan Marston (28), Matt Cavanagh (53) and Lewis Rees-Hughes (42no) in their 146-4.

Dringhouses reply began brightly, with 32 coming from the first three overs, but wickets began to fall to Rees-Hughes (2-28) and Cavanagh (2-23), and the hosts closed in fading light on 102-6, Andrew Kenyon making 20 and Chris Evans 33 not out.

In the Second Division, Huby, already champions, increased their lead to five points following Stillington’s concession, while Easingwold moved into second place following a win over Raskelf.

There were also wins for Crayke and Sheriff Hutton.

Easingwold claimed the runners-up spot with their victory over Raskelf, who were all out for 78, with Max Cosgrove taking 2-8, Kyle Waite 4-21 and Josh Summerscales 3-20.

Easingwold replied with 80-2, with Ryan Waite making a half-century and Cosgrove 21, and with the sides then being equal on points, Easingwold’s total of eight wins as opposed to Raskelf’s seven over the season sees them take second spot.

Crayke ended their season on a high with a ten-wicket win over Rowntrees & Huntington, who have played all their games away this season owing to ongoing issues with their ground. Rowntrees & Huntington were all out for 78 as home bowlers Charlie Wentworth (2-14), James Pocklington (2-25) and Mark Hutchinson (2-12) all enjoyed some success.

Hutchinson then made 51 retired as Crayke coasted to 82 without loss.

There was a much closer encounter at Alne, where the hosts lost by four runs to Sheriff Hutton. Matthew Maltby (28) and Joe Schofield (25) were the top scorers as Sheriff were all out for 123, with Toby Stirke (5-20) having the best return for Alne, while A Clarke took 2-24.

Stirke then did well with the bat, making 36 not out, and C Walsh made 25 but Alne closed just short on 119-5 with Ian Bews (3-31) and David Hull (2-22) taking the bowling honours for Sheriff.