AN exciting end to the Pilmoor Evening Cricket League remains in prospect after all the leading teams came out on top last time out.

In division one, Sessay maintained a one-point advantage over Newburgh, but champions Acomb can still retain their title.

At the bottom, struggling Alnes' fate could be the first issue to be resolved with four rounds of fixtures remaining.

Sessay made 111-5 at home to Clifton Alliance, Joe Watson (33) again showing up well. David Skaith (2-20) had the best return.

Haydn Bradley made 28 in reply but Alliance were held in check by Craig Easton (2-25), Liam Carver (3-15) and Tom Wilkinson (2-10) and fell short on 93-8, their challenge for honours continuing to fade.

Newburgh, against Thirsk, were again indebted to Mark Mierzwinski (59) for their 116-5. James Wilkinson took 3-9.

Wayne Linton then struck an important early blow when dismissing danger-man Stuart Christon, and although Harry Consett (30) kept Thirsk’s hopes alive, the all-round consistency of Newburgh's attack kept the hosts on top, Linton (2-22), Jason Sargent (2-15), Tom Banks (2-20) and Josh Sargent (4-24) dismissing them for 88 in the last over.

Acomb’s surge continued when they inflicted more misery on Alne.

The latter's 107-7 was due to W Newby (31), Alec Sanderson taking 3-23. Matthew Dale (63no) led the reply, Acomb winning in 13.3 overs.

Sheriff Hutton Bridge's improvement continued with a 30-run win at Helperby.

L Campbell (52no) took them to 128-5, and Danny Cass (3-17) and Isaac Giannini (3-14) saw Helperby close on 98-9.

Division two high-riders Dringhouses and Easingwold recorded wins and Raskelf also kept their hopes alive.

Leaders Dringhouses won a low-scoring encounter at Sheriff Hutton.

Geoff Schofield (36) was the only batsman to show form in Sheriff's 76-8. They hit back with Ollie Head (5-22) taking a wicket in each of his five overs, but Tom Storr's 26 helped Houses scramble home at 77-8 despite losing more wickets to former team-mate Ian Bews (2-12).

Easingwold beat Rowntrees & Huntington by seven wickets.

Jamie Metcalfe's 2-6 and Zac Wilson's accurate five-over spell costing 14 runs restricted Rowntrees to 101-5, despite Josh de Silva's good form, retiring on 50.

Easingwold reached their target in 11 overs, Max Cosgrove hitting 41 and Kyle Waite 42 not out.

Raskelf rekindled promotion hopes with victory over Civil Service.

Raskelf made 120-4 thanks to Matthew Goddard's 50 retired. Will Phelps (31) led the reply but Service closed on 77-7, Chris Brown returning 2-10.

Crayke continued their improvement with a last-over win at Huby, who were all out for 87, Jake Fox top-scoring with 23 as Joe Wright (4-29) and debutant Jack Walker (3-7) did the damage.

Crayke were guided home by Mark Hutchinson (31no), even though Huby kept themselves in the hunt through Ollie Tanner-Smith (2-16), Sean Dixon (3-19) and Fox (2-26).