SESSAY and Sheriff Hutton both lost top spots after defeats in the Pilmoor Evening Cricket League.

Sessay were beaten at Newburgh who are now the first division's joint leaders along with Clifton Alliance.

Sheriff Hutton, meanwhile, dropped to third in the second division after losing to new leaders Raskelf.

Mark Mierzwinski scored 58 as Newburgh reached 90-2 against Sessay but they collapsed to 101 all out (James Easton 3-16 and Stephen Langstaff 4-20).

Liam Ormston made 22 and Stuart Peirse 19 but Sessay were all out for 96 thanks to bowlers Wayne Linton (2-36), Tommy Banks (2-15), Dave Taylor (2-8) and Josh Sargent (2-33).

Clifton Alliance bounced back from last week’s reverse with a seven wicket win over Thirsk.

Thirsk posted 135-6 (Stuart Christon (59) and James Wilkinson (19)) while Liam Green (2-24) and Jake Atkinson (3-13) had the most success for Clifton.

Nick Hindle (35), Scott Hopkinson (26) and Will Scholey (34) steered Clifton to 137-3 by the final over.

Sheriff Hutton Bridge moved away from the foot of the table with victory over struggling Alne who scored 63-9 (Jon Henley (27)). Jimmy O’Connor (2-18) and Ben Exall (3-15) kept SHB on top.

Connor Campbell (43) led the reply and SHB reached 67-2 in only 9 overs to leave Alne adrift at the foot of the table.

Helperby’s challenge is fading after a second successive defeat, this time by Acomb.

Dan Marston scored 65 as Helperby made 123-4 but Matthew Dale and Aidan Burton put on 110 for the first wicket and Acomb took the points at 127-1 with 2 overs remaining.

Raskelf are emerging as the surprise package in division two and recorded their most convincing win of the season, beating leaders Sheriff Hutton by 9 wickets.

Jag Gopalappa made 38 as Sheriff posted 98-5, Raskelf's Matthew Burn returning 3-19.

In reply, Austin Baker (23), Alec Snowball (30no) and Dominic Snook (44 no) took Raskelf to 102-1 with 2 overs in hand.

Easingwold’s challenge faltered against improving Crayke.

Easingwold posted 135-3 thanks to Andrew Metcalfe (50 ret), Zac Willson (24 no), Jamie Metcalfe (23) and Max Cosgrove (21).

Crayke’s reply saw Mark Hutchinson make 50 and Ian Pears 20 in a total of 136-3.

Second placed Dringhouses maintained their challenge for the title with a comfortable win against Civil Service.

The visitors opened and only Ian Tessier (30) had any answer to the home bowlers as his side struggled to 66-6.

Murray Coyle set up a rapid Dringhouses win with a 52 that included 6 sixes as Dringhouses reached 67-1.

Rowntrees and Huntington recorded their first win at the expense of Huby who scored 129-8 (Max Lord 45, Jake Fox 44). Josh de Silve (50ret) and Dan Waterworth (48 no) ensured the York side recorded victory at 132-3.