NEWLY promoted Clifton Alliance began life in Pilmoor Evening Cricket League division one with an emphatic win over champions Acomb.

The champs batted first and, although Brandon Weal made 40, they subsided to 80 all out, Alex Renton taking 4-10 and Mike Thompson 3-1.

Alliance then cruised to 81-1 in 13 overs with Jamie Butt making 38 not out and Nic Hindle 21.

Alne were put in to bat at home to Sessay and posted a challenging 139-5, Tom Jackson making 58 not out as Craig Easton took 2-19 from five overs.

However, Matthew Wass smashed 85 not out and opening partner Stuart Peirse 21 not out as Sessay took the home attack apart, securing a ten-wicket victory in the 14th over.

Sheriff Hutton Bridge made 107-8 against Newburgh, Steven Croft (20) and Danny Kiernan (25) contributing most, while Tom Banks (2-34), Josh Sargent (2-23) and Luke Ramsay (2-23) had good returns.

Mark Mierzwinski (63no) led Newburgh to a seven-wicket win with more than an over to spare.

Thirsk batted first against visiting Helperby and were almost totally indebted to Mark Cook for their 70-5.

Four batsmen failed to trouble the scorers, as Chris Morrison claimed 3-0 and Matt Poulter 2-12, whereas Cook, coming in at number three, made all but eight of Thirsk’s total, finishing unbeaten on 62.

His effort proved in vain as Helperby reached 71-3 in the penultimate over, Dan Spink unbeaten on 30.

In division two, Sheriff Hutton, relegated without a win last season, began their campaign with victory at Easingwold.

Tommy Langstaff (29) got the hosts off to a good start, but a mid-innings falter including a couple of run-outs hampered their progress.

Josh Moate (18) improved their fortunes but they could only manage 71-6 as Sheriff continued to bowl tidily, typified by David Hull (1-1 from three overs).

In reply, Sagar Gohil (3-14), Tommy Langstaff (2-16) and Josh Moverley (2-8) hit back, but Henry Chandler's 16 and David Hull’s 12 not out saw Sheriff to a narrow last-over victory at 73-8.

Huby posted the highest score of the evening of 153-7 at Civil Service.

Ollie Tanner-Smith made 27 but the match-winning innings came from Sean Dixon, who returned at the fall of the seventh wicket to add to his previous half-century and finish unbeaten on 78.

The home reply reached 115-8, Peter Noble (31) top scoring.

Tom Shaw made 45 not out and Sam Beales 31 as Rowntrees & Huntington posted 96-1 at Dringhouses.

The hosts' reply saw Tom Owen make 25, Andrew Simpson 24 and George Foster-Vigors 23 as they reached 97-4 in the penultimate over, Shaw’s 2-22 being in vain.

Raskelf totalled 97-5 when they hosted Crayke, Sam Porter (28no) top scoring.

Sam Fielding (2-12) and Leo Hutchinson (3-21) took the bowling honours for Crayke, and Fielding (27) then showed up well with the bat.

Raskelf, though, got on top through Matthew Burn (2-13) and Chris Brown (3-11) and Crayke closed in arrears on 60-7.