DIVISION one champions Sheriff Hutton Bridge suffered a second successive defeat in the Pilmoor Evening Cricket League.

Bridge lost the only fixture to be played on the opening week and they were on the wrong end of the scoreline when they visited Sessay.

Batting first, they struggled to 80-7, the only batsmen to show any real form being Shaun Harland with 20 and Mark Fisher with 26 not out as Craig Easton took 3-16) and Ben Scaling 2-23.

An unbroken opening partnership between Stuart Peirse (47no) and Matthew Wass (26no) then eased Sessay to a comfortable victory at 82-0.

Thirsk, last year's runners-up, also lost in a closely-fought contest at Newburgh.

The hosts batted first on a slow pitch and struggled to 68-7, James Banks with 18 and Rob Proudley with 19 the only batsmen with any answer to the bowling of James Wilkinson (5-5) and Jake Porter (2-17).

Thirsk were reduced to 31-7, chiefly by Wayne Linton’s opening burst of 4-13. Although Jake Porter tried hard to rally his side with 14 not out, Newburgh’s win was sealed by Tom Banks’ 2-17 as Thirsk closed on 63-8.

Promoted Acomb posted the highest score of the evening when they made 129-5 against Alne.

Dave Darley made 24 and Joe Dale 57, while Tom Wilson took 2-37 for Alne.

Opener Paul Hutchinson then made 31 and Alex Buteux 53, but their progress was slowed by the spin of Dale, who returned 3-8 from three overs as Alne fell short on 117-5.

Helperby were the other victors in the top flight when they recorded a last-over success at Sheriff Hutton.

Matthew Prosser top-scored as Sheriff posted 83-8, but his colleagues were undermined by Atish Chouhan, who returned 5-16.

Ross McKenzie made 20 in the Helperby reply, but Sheriff remained in contention through Matthew Maltby (2-16) and David Hull (2-19), leaving the visitors requiring five from the last three balls.

A six then won the match for Helperby with two deliveries remaining, Dan Marston’s unbeaten 25 proving decisive.