HEWORTH were crowned Foss Evening Cricket League division one champions after beating last year’s winners Bubwith in a final-over affair at a soggy Elm Park Way.

Bubwith got off to a good start through Richard Readman (29) but Heworth’s first change bowlers Martin Boothroyd (2-11) and Phil Holland (4-11) dismissed the top order, restricting the visitors to 109-9 off 18 overs.

Rob Carlill (37) and Tom Allan (26) then took the game away from Bubwith with an opening stand of 69.

Will Axup (3-13) caused Heworth’s middle order to wobble but the title was sealed with three balls to spare.

A strong batting performance by Dunnington Academy earned a 36-run win against Osbaldwick.

They clicked into gear after the early losses of Harry Griffiths and Harry Claxton left them on 15-2. Jonny Andrew (48no) added 68 with Alex Wilson, who struck 41 from 26 balls before being stumped. Sam Blain, in for his last game for Dunnington, thrashed 33 off 19 balls, as the Academy made 142-3.

Osbaldwick were never really in the chase, making 106-8 with Sam Tattersall taking 3-23.

Unbeaten division two champions York didn’t quite have it all their own way against winless Heworth Colts.

After a slow start and a couple of run-outs the Clifton Park side were struggling on 46-3 from nine overs. They were rescued by a partnership of 54 of off five overs between Kallum Ahmed (42) and Toby Giddings (39). Ian Jarvis (29no) maintained the momentum to take York to 136-5.

Relegated Heworth's innings started slowly with Giddings and Matthew Scurry getting early wickets. Matthew Bradshaw (34) held up one end accompanied by Joel Johnson (25) to get the Colts to 105-7 as York ran out 31-run winners.

Tang Hall Tigers made 99-9 against relegation-haunted Bishopthorpe.

Only opener Ross Nelson (29) and Tom Hewer (26) reached double figures as 14-year-old spinner Joe Stowe returned 4-14. Stephen Tait put the pressure on the Bishops batsmen from the off with an impressive 3-21 as they were bowled out for 69.

Division three table-toppers Hemingbrough secured promotion by winning at Melbourne.

Tom Collins was the mainstay of the Hemingbrough innings - his 92 not out included eight sixes. Lee Wild contributed 23 to an opening stand of 81 before he fell to Brian Underwood, who had Glen Crouch caught on the boundary by Joel Taylor with his next delivery. Tom Ellwood avoided the hat-trick ball and Hemingbrough pushed on to total 122-2. Melbourne struggled to 39-3, finally closing on 83-4, 39 runs short.

Thixendale had a free week and were leapfrogged by Aviva Vikings, who moved into second place by thrashing Pocklington by 141 runs.

Vikings amassed 190-5, Sohil Akram (73no) and Mounam Ejaz (59no) retiring together after adding more than 100 runs for the third wicket. Pock were bowled out for 49, Ryan Pepper taking 6-29.

Heslington Centurions ended a run of four games without a win by beating Westow by six wickets at the Outgang.

The visitors were reduced to 14-3 but Matthew Shipley’s 49 enabled Westow to reach the break at 109-8. Heslington’s Pankaj Sinai (21) and Lewis Wrathall (61no) powered to 60 without loss off five overs and the home side went on to win with three overs in hand.

Stillingfleet totalled 127-5 against Stockton & Hopgrove. Matt Walker (55) and Phil Corfield (37) put on 64 runs before the first wicket fell in the ninth over. The total proved enough as Stockton were always behind the rate in their reply after losing both openers in the first over. They rebuilt through Tom Hodgson (43no) and Phil Herridge (42) but fell short on 109-4.