SELBY Town remain the pick of the bunch after claiming a tough league victory over Wombwell Town at the Fairfax Plant Hire Stadium.

In the wake of opening the campaign with back-to-back victories, Selby went three for three in a stellar performance at Richard Street.

As regards team news, two changes to the starting eleven were named from that opening home fixture against Shirebrook Town at the Fairfax Plant Hire Stadium.

Dan Davison and Alex Burton started against the league’s newest members ahead of suspended duo, Harry Clapham and Jamie Danby.

Early opportunities in the game fell to the visitors, whose efforts were unable to challenge Alfie Burnett in the robin’s goal.

Town soon grew in confidence and found themselves ahead after ten minutes when Ned Dry fumbled the ball home following a defensive mishap from out visitors.

Despite having the visitors seeing more in terms of shots on goal, the equilibrium continued in town’s favour, who continued to have the possession in the opening half.

Skipper, Ryan Gothard saw yellow midway through the half and Ryan Cooper was forced off momentarily before the half time whistle.

It was a new half but a similar story as the hosts continued to see the opportunities with Selby having the possession.

The visitors finally got the goal they had craved after six minutes of the half; a fair and thunderous effort from twenty yards.

The Robins resolve continued to be tested after seeing the visitors continue with the fair share of opportunities on goal.

Both Jason Price and Matty Dawes were removed from play with Charlie Smith and Tom Palmer replacing.

With the minutes ticking away, the tie had a look of a score draw, however, Town were awarded a late free kick out to the left, Iwan Heeley would take, seeing his effort fool everyone to take town ahead. Nerves played their part, but the hundred and eighty plus crowd would carry the lads over the line for one hell of a team effort to claim an unbeaten start.

Robins XI: Alfie Burnett, Caden McGrath, Ryan Gothard, Jamie Price (Charlie Smith 80’), Jason St Juste, Ryan Cooper (Iwan Heeley 43’), Dan Davison, Matty Dawes (Tom Palmer 71’), Kyle Fish, Ned Dry, Alex Burton.

Unused Subs: Sam Kitson, Billy Hick.

ATT: 180