NEIL WOOD has secured a record 10th Scruton Cup title - York’s premier snooker scratch singles competition.

Wood overcame Clive Whyte 3-0 in a cagey encounter, claiming the first frame on the colours and winning the second having needed a snooker with only the colours left.

In the third frame, Wood opened with a 42 break and remained in control to seal his milestone title.

Wood had last won the competition in 2010 and headed into this year's edition tied on nine wins with Ken Taylor.

In the first round of the tournament, Wood begun his Cup bid with a comfortable 2-0 win against Karl Mullen from Fulford.

Five-time winner Clive Whyte was involved in a tight tussle with Stephen Burr from Acomb.

Whyte lost the first frame on the colours despite opening the match with a 35 break.

The tables were turned in the second frame as Burr made a 30 break but was pipped by Whyte on the colours.

The deciding frame endured several twists and turns with Whyte eventually securing the win with a double on the blue.

Jordan Worobec, the champion in 2015, returned to the baize and showed his class compiling a 54 break in a 2 0 win over Jim Ledgeway.

Worobec’s half-century proved to be the highest break in the competition.

Elsewhere in the Scruton Cup, John Dowd put together a tidy 40 break in a 2-0 win over Andy Ireland in an all Heworth clash. Meanwhile at Acomb, Phil Carlton overcame fellow member Paul Mahoney 2-0.