THE 2022 Betfred Women’s Super League Grand Final will return to the Totally Wicked Stadium on Sunday, September 18.

The St Helens venue hosted the 2019 Grand Final before a move to Headingley Stadium last year.

St Helens will be hoping to retain their BWSL title on home soil, having clinched the 2021 title by defeating Leeds Rhinos in October's showpiece finale.

The Saints continued their domination of domestic women's rugby league by defeating Leeds 18-8 in this weekend's Betfred Challenge Cup final at Elland Road, securing a fourth straight trophy win.

The 2022 Grand Final has been awarded to St Helens after an application process open to all BWSL clubs, the Rugby Football League (RFL) revealed.

The competition's semi-finals will be played two weeks earlier, on Sunday, September 4, at Headingley Stadium.

The 2022 BWSL kicks off this weekend, with York City Knights Ladies beginning their campaign away to Huddersfield Giants on Sunday (2pm) at Huddersfield YMCA.

York are joined by St Helens, Leeds, Huddersfield and Wigan Warriors in group one of the revamped BWSL, following the withdrawal of Castleford Tigers to group two.

The winners of the group two play-offs will be promoted to the top-flight in 2023, with no relegation from group one taking place this year.

The RFL have stated that a revised BWSL fixture list will be confirmed this week, following the decision by Castleford to step down a tier.