FULFORD ‘B’ secured the York Snooker League after a final-day victory over Bootham ‘B’ 3-1, writes Clive Whyte.

Fulford headed into the match knowing that anything other than a victory would mean it highly likely that their champions status were be ceded.

James Bonwick won the first frame for the 'B' side, beating Matt Smith. 

The next two frames were shared as while Karl Mullen lost to Bootham’s Ian Robinson, Paul Mahoney was unable to secure the second frame for his team.

The deciding frame for Fulford was won by Russell Shaw who, by defeating Lionel Barnes, was able to bring the silverware to Fulford ‘B’, who finished the season unbeaten on eight wins, one draw and zero losses.

Bootham ‘A’ had to settle for second, despite coming away from Castle as 3-1 victors.
The first win for Bootham came courtesy of Chris Thompson, but Castle were able to level the match in the very next frame.

The next two frames were won by Rob Barron and Paul Powell, securing the game for Bootham.

Elsewhere, Acomb ‘B’ won a whitewash, only their second of the season, by beating Heworth ‘B’ 4-0.

Heworth’s Andy Hurley was beaten by Phil Carlton in the opener. Andy Burr would then make a 31 break as he defeated Andy Ogley.

Successive wins by Trevor Ventress and Jim Ledgeway were enough for Acomb to ensure their win.

Meanwhile, Malton’s visit to Fulford ‘A’ saw them leave with a 2-2 draw.
Dan Pawson started well for Malton, but his win was soon matched by Fulford’s Mo Mohammed, who was victorious against Phil Hart.

Phil Cooke would then launch his side into the lead by beating Malton’s Roger Ward, but Chris Atkinson was able to level the scores.

Bootham ‘B’ will play Fulford ‘A’ in the Snooker League finals night on Wednesday, May 25.

On the same night, Heworth Pairs face Acomb Pairs in the Ted Plant Team Cup.