THE Rugby Football League have revealed that there will be a new format to the AB Sundecks 1895 Cup from next season.

Under the 2021 rules, York City Knights were one of four winners from the Betfred Challenge Cup second round as thus qualified for the 1895 Cup semi-finals.

York would go on to defeat Swinton Lions in the final four tie to secure a final date against Featherstone Rovers at Wembley Stadium - the club's first appearance at the national stadium in 90 years.

Next year's competition will see a slight change to that format, with five clubs from either the Championship, Betfred League One or the amateur game able to qualify for the competition, should they progress to the sixth round.

The RFL have stated that a play-off match - the details of which have yet to be revealed - will take place on April 9/10 before the semi-finals are held on May 7/8.

The semi-final winners will then face off in the final at the Tottenham Hotspur Stadium on May 28 prior to the Challenge Cup final.

The Challenge Cup begins on January 15/16, with leading amateur clubs, including York Acorn, featuring in the first round.

The second round sees League One clubs enter, although Cornwall, alongside Toulouse Olympique will not take part.

The draw for both the first and second round will be broadcast on the BBC Red Button and the OurLeague app on December 14 (5.30pm).

York City Knights will enter at the fourth round stage, on February 26/27, after the third round ties on February 12/13.

The fifth round ties are on March 12/13 before Betfred Super League clubs enter the sixth round on March 26/27.

The quarter-finals, semi-finals are final are on April 9/10, May 7/8 and May 28 respectively.