EIGHT academy players have left York City upon not being offered professional contracts by the club.

The group of players to leave the club upon the end of their scholarships are Ben Chamberlain, Lucas Martin, Jack Wright, Blake Drury, Matty Dixon, Oliver Jordan, Alfie Evans and Brandon Finn.

The eight players "depart the club with the best wishes of everyone at the club," said York City in a club statement.

The club have also committed to aiding the players in their search for other opportunities inside or outside the sport moving forwards.

Head of youth development Dan Wilson said: "We would like to thank all outgoing players for their commitment and professionalism throughout their scholarships and wider academy journeys.

"It has been a pleasure to have played a part in the development of a fantastic group of young men and we wish them all the best for the future.

"We will continue to support them in finding a new club or a career after football."

York's youth team captain Archie Whitfield signed a new professional contract with the Minstermen last month.

Steve Watson's first team squad for the 2021/22 season currently consists of: Pete Jameson, Ryan Whitley, Scott Barrow, Matty Brown, Michael Duckworth, Josh King, Sean Newton, Olly Dyson, Paddy McLaughlin, Whitfield, Akil Wright and Kurt Willoughby.