YORK City Knights will be without some of their front-line forwards when they host Wigan Warriors in the Betfred Challenge Cup on Friday night (7.45pm).

The Knights were forced to take off prop Jordan Baldwinson and second-row Danny Kirmond through injury during the first half of Saturday's Betfred Championship season opener against Toulouse Olympique.

The pair join captain Chris Clarkson and hooker Kriss Brining on the sidelines ahead of the Wigan clash, while front rower Jack Teanby is also missing.

York have brought Sam Scott back into their squad, with the back rower in line for his first competitive appearance of the year, while youngsters AJ Towse, Myles Harrison and Toby Warren are also named for the first time in 2021.

“We’ve got a few bumps and bruises," said Knights head coach James Ford at Tuesday's press conference. "But we’ve got great respect for the competition and we’ll pick the strongest available 17 that we’ve got.

“But at the same time, we’ve got to be sensible and manage the resources I’ve got. So I won’t be putting anyone out there who’s likely to get worsened by the intensity of the game.

“When the draw was made, we were all really excited by the prospect of facing off against Wigan. I certainly don’t want to come across as negative, because I love the Challenge Cup.

“But ultimately, I’ve got to win as many league games as I possibly can, so it’s not a cup final and I can’t afford to play blokes who are carrying niggles when we’ve got round two the week after.

“I’ve got to make some sensible decisions in terms of our selection. The boys that go out there will be well prepared and a lot of clarity of what needs to be done.

“It’s an opportunity for us to grow our reputation as an organisation absolutely. We want to win the game and get through to the next round. But would I swap beating Wigan for six league points, I’m not sure.”

York squad: Marsh, Salter, Atkins, K Dixon, O’Hagan, R Dixon, Jubb, Scott, Cuthbertson, Stock, Green, Spears, Porter, Whiteley, Jones-Bishop, Barcoe, Towse, Harrison, Warren, Washbrook, Dow-Nikau.