THERE was a reduced fixture programme in the York Minster Engineering League premier division with a host of clubs involved in County Cup action, and that handed a chance to Dunnington and Thorpe United to bypass leaders Wigginton Grasshoppers at the top of the division.

Dunnington didn’t need a second invitation to do so, with efforts from Joe Allerton and Harry Lynne plus an own goal, guiding them to a 3-0 victory over a spirited F1 side.

Thorpe United also looked to be securing maximum points in their clash with Tadcaster Magnets, leading 1-0 at half time via Will Ramsay.

However, a 47th-minute penalty from Ellis Stephenson and a last-minute Joe Hopkins strike handed Magnets a 2-1 success and moved them up to fourth.

The result kept Magnets unbeaten league record intact, shattering Thorpe’s in the process.

Danny Owers hit a hat-trick to fire Poppleton United to a 4-3 triumph at Easingwold Town.

Tom Williams netted Poppy’s fourth.

The form teams in Division One kept up their promotion charges.

Tockwith scores a convincing 7-1 success at Cliffe, for whom Tom Hogg hit a consolation effort.

Osbaldwick defeated Riccall United by the same score line.

Connor Campbell collected a hat-trick with Aaron Kirby (2), Oliver Green and Cameron Loftus also finding the net.

Haxby Town gained a 5-3 victory over Stanford Bridge thanks to goals from Paul Holmes, Adam Douse and Dave Fell with the former duo both striking braces.

Malt Shovel did a demolition job on Harrison Signs, putting seventeen past their opponents without reply.

Brad Hall struck five times with Deacon Brace also bagging a hat-trick.

Luke Pearse, Charlie Harvey, Ben Tope and James Butcher collected a brace each with Carl Morris adding a solitary effort of his own.