DEFENDER Sean Newton is among the five York City players to have signed new deals with the club for next season.

Newton was a regular starter in York's back five last season, making 40 starts in the 2019/20 season, the most of any player in the first-team squad, scoring five goals.

The former captain will now enter his fifth season with the Minstermen, having originally joined the club from Wrexham back in 2016.

Also penning contract extensions with the club are youngsters Harry Spratt, Josh King, Reiss Harrison and Charlie Jebson-King.

Defenders Spratt and King made eight and six appearances respectively last term and could be set for more game time next season following the departures of Steve McNulty and Joe Tait.

The number of players in Steve Watson's first-team squad now stands at eight, with goalkeepers Peter Jameson and Ryan Whitley and central midfielder Paddy McLaughlin also signed on for next term.

York remain in discussions with David Ferguson, Kieran Green and Alex Kempster.