NEW Earswick IBC finished off the Yorkshire League division two season in style with a brace of wins over local rivals York.

The 'B' team saw off York 'C' 91-63 while the 'A' team beat York 'D' 90-70.

For the 'B' team, Joe Barker, Brian Hutton, Alan Shearer and Eric Cookson - with fours at the first two and the ninth end - had a comfortable 20-2 shot lead at the halfway mark on their way to a 29-13 win over A. Lockwood, I. Mackland, N. Mallen and D. Berwick.

Gordon Fratson, Barry Harrison, Rod Walker and Barry Johnson also got off to flier against A. Braithwaite, W. Darbyshire, N. Ellis and T. Scott with fours at the first and third ends, and a five at the 11th. York rink won five of the last seven ends but went down 27-13.

At Thanet Road, Earswicks’s Brian Harton, David Crane, Graham Lockwood and Dick Osguthorpe had a very tight match with York’s P. Waring, B. Walker, D. Clough and D. Clarke. Earswick led 20-14 but York finished strongly to go down only 20-18.

Dave Counter, Steve Hudson, Alwyn Anderson and Bob Barrett lost 19-15 to York’s E. Hodgson, M. Rankeiller C. Robinson and M. Snowden. Earswick led 13-10 after 14 ends but York won the next five ends, picking up nine shots, to lead 19-13.

The Earswick 'C' team of Dave Jefferies, Dave Turner, Pete Lee and Barrie Shipley found themselves 14-4 down after eight ends against D. Walls, J. Hughes, J. Sandle and R. Munro as they lost 27-17.

Colin Rafton, Dave Sykes, Paul Webster and Rob Dunnill - with a four at the first and a five at the eighth - led J.Munday M. Holder, D. Dearlove and S. Lea 18-5 after nine ends. The York rink had the better of the last 12 ends but Earswick hung on to win 24-18.

Away, Tom Robinson, Matt Brown, Mickey Warriner and Andy Nicholson led G. Dickinson, D. Snarr, Rod Knight and Alan Yoward 11-0 after six ends. The early dominance saw them home 21-15.

Dave Toms, Dave Hutchinson, Malcolm Reeson and Nigel Steels extended their 4-3 lead after six ends to beat S. Elsey, B. Carter, V. Wooley and K. Robinson 28-10.

York 'B' won promotion to Yorkshire League division one with an 87-81 win against Thornaby, topping the division two table.

At home, Dave Dale, Geoff Walker, Alan Hampshire and Ken Griffiths fought a close battle, with the York team holding on for a 17-16 win.

Pete Bradley, Dave White, Malcolm Harrison and Billy Flavell had a closer game than the score line of 23-17would suggest. A four at the fourteenth end made it 17-10 and a further three at the 19th saw them home.

Away, Graham Instone, Jim Robertson, Paul Craven and Allen Clapham put their game to bed in the first 10 ends, after which they led 20-6. They were comfortable 31-23 winners.

Mal Bulmer, Gordon Fennell, Pete Riley and Ken Simpson started well but lost 25-16.

In division one, York 'A' played lost 76-63 to champions elect Hornsea, who had only lost four points all season.

Dave Stroughair, Graham Brooke, Dave Cowsill and Harley Wenham lost 25-11. It was even until eight ends, then for 10 ends, York did not pick up a point and lost 15 shots and the game.

John Crowe, Jack Woodworth, Mel Lancaster and Stu Smith built a healthy seven-shot lead at the 14th end before the game swung the other way. It got to 17-17 after eighteen before Hornsea won the last three ends.

John Whiteley, Jeff Normanton, Mick Cooney and Phil Parsons had a tight match which ended 16-16.

Jack Bird, Mark Clarke, Joe Mann and Nathan Richards gave York their only win of 19-14, thanks to a 13-6 lead at 13 ends.

Next Saturday is the County Finals (10am). York Ladies take on New Earswick in the North Eastern League.