DAVID Lloyd York were presented with the Tyke Petroleum York Men's Tennis League division one trophy at the league's annual general meeting.

Captain Ed Barker-Wyatt received the trophy from sponsor and league founder Derek Boorman after guiding the champions to an impressive title defence, in which they won all 14 of their games.

A sponsor since the league's inception, Boorman's 40 years of support were also commemorated at the evening. Sponsorship will be taken over next season by the York-based Pavers Foundation.

Also receiving trophies were the other seven divisional winners.

Division two champions Wigginton 2 celebrated promotion to the top top tier, while club-mates Wigginton 3 were crowned champions of division four.

The tiers directly above and below the triumphant Wiggy third string saw York sides victorious. The second team sealed the division three trophy with an emphatic 74-34 home win over title rivals Sutton-upon-Derwent while the third team bagged the fifth division title with a similarly grand 78-30 win at Riccall.

Boston Spa 2 secured the division six title on the last day of term while Cawood took the division seven crown following what looked like a four-horse race for much of the campaign.

Dunnington received the division eight award ahead of Knaresborough 2, despite the efforts of Mike and Brad Triffitt, who finished as top-scorers for the season.