WIGGINTON 2 sealed their place in next year's Tykes men's tennis league division after a dominant victory at the weekend.

They won by a 63-45 scoreline against David Lloyd York 2 to confirm their title as champions of division two.

Returns of 22 from Andy Withers/Ian Grasby and Ben Storey/James Walker, backed up by 19 from Jason Whiting/Scott Farquhar, secured the victory for Wigginton.

Meanwhile, David Lloyd York 2 finish the season in fourth place.

In division one, Harrogate Racquets 1, who were already aware of their relegation fate to the second tier, entertained York 1.

The visitors prevailed 63-45, thanks in the main to a majestic 29 from first pair Steve Smith/Graeme Campbell.

York end the season in third place while Racquets will be playing their tennis in division two next term.

In division five, the promotion race went down to the wire, with Selby going down 44-64 to the visiting Rufforth.

Key to the Rufforth triumph was a fine 27 from first pair Rob Berry/Phil Sinton.

The 3 points that Selby accrued from the match leaves them one point off promotion, with the honour going to Heworth by the narrowest possible margin.

Rufforth had to settle for a fifth placing in the ladder.

Boston Spa 2 had a superb 83-25 win at Sutton-upon-Derwent 2 and consequently finish as champions of division six.

All three Boston pairs - Pete Smith/Marc Mottershead, Neil Little/Barry Johnson and Trevor Hughes/Peter McCreesh - scored in the high twenties as they struck a weekend-high score of 83.

Sutton-upon-Derwent end the season third from-bottom.

The remaining promotion place goes to Pocklington, who saw off Wilberfoss 2 72-36, who will be play their tennis in the fifth tier next year.

In a consistent team display, all three home pairs scored north of twenty - Ross Gleig/David Moores, Stewart Berry/Richie Norris and Matt Ralphs/Ben Smith impressing.

The end of the season roll of honour:

Division one - champions David Lloyd York 1, runners-up Wigginton 1.

Division two - champions Wigginton 2, runners-up Boston Spa 1.

Division three - champions York 2, runners-up Sutton-Upon-Derwent 1.

Division four - champions Wigginton 3, runners-up Harrogate Spa 1.

Division five - champions York 3, runners-up Heworth 1.

Division six - champions Boston Spa 2, runners-up Pocklington.

Division seven - champions Cawood, runners-up Harlow.

Division eight - champions Dunnington, runners-up Knaresborough 2.