DAVID Lloyd York 1 have retained their Tyke Petroleum York Men’s Tennis League title following their 70-38 triumph over visiting Harrogate Racquets 1.

A 26-game haul from Ed Barker-Wyatt/Jan Dyl, backed up by 25 from Dale Fawcett/Jack Bachelor sealed the victory and rounded off a perfect division one season for David Lloyd, who won each of their14 games.

Wigginton 1 finish second having maintained a relentless pursuit of the champions throughout the season. Their final match saw a surprising reverse at the hands of Copmanthorpe 1.

An excellent 33 from David Atkinson/Jonny Kay was the centrepiece of the Cop win, a result which finally put an end to their lingering relegation fears and condemned Racquets to the second tier for next season.

Boston Spa 1 assured themselves of promotion from ​division two​ with a comprehensive 72-36 win over Wetherby 1. The highlight for Spa was a huge 28 from first pair Matt and Steven Lewis.

In a crunch promotion battle, Wigginton 2 triumphed 65-43 over their visitors Fulford 1, thanks to a fine team effort in which all three pairs Ben Storey/James Walker, Andy Withers/Ian Grasby and Matt Waudby/Jason Whiting scored in the twenties.

Who will join Boston Spa in promotion, and indeed who will lift the division two trophy, remain open questions.

A near flawless 31 from Paul Adams and Ed Martin piloted Rowntree Park 1 to a 76-32 defeat of Poppleton 2. The outcome is of no consolation to either side, however, as both are confirmed as relegated.

York 2's emphatic 74-34 home win over title rivals Sutton-upon-Derwent 1 sealed the hosts' division three championship, and the latter's promotion to division two. All three York pairs - Jez Catchpole/John Logan, Jake Lonsdale/Neil Johnson and Richard Cranidge/Jamie Winspear - returned scores north of 20.

Harrogate Racquets 2 and Bubwith 1 - both with relegation fears at the start of play - fought out a tense 54-54 draw.

The result turned out to be enough for each club to preserve their division three status, since Appleton Roebuck 1 beat David Lloyd Harrogate 2, consigning the latter, along with the already doomed Alne and Tollerton, to division four tennis next season.

Wigginton 3 were crowned division four champions, despite having the day off at the weekend.

Harrogate Spa 1 are also promoted, though were unable to celebrate in style, going down 32-76 to Knaresborough 1, whose shock victory - the highlight of which was a splendid 30 from David Hewson/Matt Walton - was not quite enough to prevent their relegation, as fellow strugglers Starbeck 2 overcame Wetherby 2. A fine all-round performance from Starbeck was capped by a massive 32 from first pair Chris White/Sam Taster-Grindley.

l For the full report, see www.yorkpress.co.uk/sport.

The ​division five ​title has gone to York 3, who travelled to Riccall and came away with a resounding 78-30 victory. All three York pairs, Bradley Austin/Jack Lewis, Dean Brazenhall/Finley Richardson and Andy Graham/Dave Duffy, achieved 20-plus scores. The result means that Riccall join the already doomed Appleton Roebuck 2 in the relegation slots.

Both Selby and Heworth 1 won at the weekend, and both are therefore left to fight for the remaining promotion slot, in matches due to take place over the next two weeks.

Boston Spa 2 and Pocklington have secured the ​division six​ promotion honours, although both have a game still to play and both retain a chance of clinching the title.

Spa crushed Wilberfoss 2 71-37 while Pock overcame promotion rivals Wigginton 4 74-34, with the highlight a fine 31 from Matt Ralphs/Dave Gamble.

The​ division seven​ race has been a four-way thriller for most of the season. Cawood’s 54-54 draw at Sheriff Hutton was enough to deliver them the title but not enough for Sheriff Hutton to gain promotion, leaving them one point adrift of Harlow, who had the week off but retain second place in the table.

Harrogate Spa 2 trounced Heworth 2 - who were able to field only two pairs - 98-10, but miss out on promotion by a mere two points.

Bubwith 2 and Heworth 2 must look forward to division eight tennis next season.

Knaresborough 2 came away from Wigginton 5 with a huge 90-18 victory and a ​division eight ​promotion slot. Mike and Brad Triffit dropped only one game to become the week’s and the season’s top scorers. Gary Young/Nick Jackson and John Burnham/Andrew Little also scored admirably, with 27 and 28 respectively.

The result was not enough, however, to give Knaresborough the title. This honour goes to Dunnington, following their 87-21 win at Bishopthorpe 2.