ON the final weekend of the HPH York Vale cricket league season, Clifton Alliance rounded off a memorable season securing the division one title to complete a league and cup double.

Admirably led by skipper Jason Gatus, his young side recorded their fifth consecutive victory to secure the title and see off the challenge of Burn who finished runners-up.

After the visitors Ovington (128-6) were restricted to a below par total, thanks to the accuracy of the home bowling attack, Clifton (131-2) cruised to victory despite the early loss of skipper Gatus.

Fifties from Ali Wary (53) and Lewis Clark (51) sealed their status as division one champions for the first time.

Burn (242-9) secured second spot with a hard-fought victory against relegated Askham Bryan (234-7) with the Burn top order of Scott Haigh (50), Scott Hunt (70) and Ed Clarke (41) among the runs.

Led by opener Phil Allen (95 not out), Askham made a real fist of it in reply only to fall eight runs short, Graham Robson (4-66) picking up the lion’s share of the wickets.

Yapham (160-5) left it late in the season to find some winning form with a successful run chase led by Rob Hewitt (68) against visitors South Cave & Brantingham (157-9), whose Harshal Deshmukh (62) was earlier their top-scorer.

Thixendale’s (76) inconsistent recent form saw them fall to a heavy defeat at Melbourne (171-8) as Robin Miller (4-7), Scott Coupland (3-35) and James Coupland (3-27) prevailed with the ball.

Kelfield (251-4) completed their campaign with a thumping defeat of Stockton & Hopgrove (154).

Runs flowed for the Kelfield top five as John Cockerill (50), Craig Lawson (35), Jamie Wheeler (51no), Matthew Walker (52) and Chris Walker (40) enjoyed their final visits to the crease for the season.

Lawson (4-26) then added to his wicket count as the Stockton innings fell away despite a spirited fifty from Kalum Perera (51no).

In division two, Dunnington (247-5) secured promotion to division one in style as Hemingbrough (120) succumbed to the talented youth and experience of the Common Road side.

After the early loss of two wickets, a 155-run partnership between James Crichton (64) and skipper Steve Jackson (132no) enabled the home side to post another 200-plus total.

Young spinners Ewan Davies (4-12) and Harvey Jackson (3-25) then completed the win as Dunnington secured their promotion to join near neighbours and champions Stamford Bridge in the top flight next season.

Hirst Courtney (114) were no match for Stamford Bridge (258) as the champions finished their campaign in style with skipper Des Healey (4-16) again among the wickets.

Runs from Andrew Healey (60), Alex Jubb (55), Joshua Moore (33) and D Davies (32) had earlier laid the foundations for the home side’s fifteenth win of the campaign.

Third-place Pocklington (42) had a final day to forget as Wheldrake’s Lee Fearn (6-9) ripped through their batting order with no single batsman reaching double figures.

Clifton Alliance (126) took the spoils in a low scoring game at Thorpe Willoughby (96) whose Ed Hutchinson (34) was the only bat to master the conditions. Freddie Mills (4-11) for the visitors and Drew Senior (4-28) for the hosts being the pick of the bowlers.

Runs flowed more freely in division three as Heslington (226-6), Stamford Bridge (227-5), Ovington (233-5) and Bolton Percy (232-8) all posted big final day totals.

Ovington’s successful run chase against Bolton Percy was led by a century for Matt Dwyer (122no) and supported by Unwin Waidyaratne (47).

Heslington’s successful run chase was led by opener John Ayre (70) after the visitors had earlier prospered through Adam Willcock (70no).