YORK Indoor Bowls Club were on top form again as they retained the Yetton Trophy - a competition they have monopolised over the last few years.

Playing at Rugby Thornfield IBC - the same finals venue as last year - York beat arguably their strongest rivals, St Neots, of Cambridgeshire, in the semi-finals then defeated Dolphin, of Poole, in the final.

Early on in the semi-final, York trailed in all four rinks and 21-10 on aggregate.

However, when Lynda Parker, Tina Robinson, Hayley Robinson and Sheila Turpin picked up a five to take the lead in their game, it signalled a revival.

The aggregate became tied at 32-32 and thereafter it was nip and tuck before York, confidently strong finishers, prevailed 76-69.

Dot Kennelly, Maureen Walker, Melanie Brooke and Linda Harrison were the stars as they won 20-10 for the crucial aggregate boost, while Parker, Robinson, Robinson and Turpin came from 15-10 down to win 19-17.

Carol Banks, Pauline Armitage, Sue Kirkpatrick and Helen Wood drew 19-19 after dropping a three on the last, while Joan Jackson, Pat Potter, Zoe Eagles and Carol Instone, having struggled early on, only lost 23-18.

York therefore moved into their fourth final in the last six years where they met a Dolphin side who had seen off Dorchester 81-62.

York stormed 30-13 up after 24 ends in total, with three rinks leading, and they pulled away again to lead 69-52 with only six ends to play.

Turpin's rink won their last nine ends to win 27-5, Instone's side won seven of their last nine to triumph 19-15, and Harrison's rink picked up singles on their last two ends to draw 17-17, while Wood's team lost 25-14.

The final score was 77-62 as York lifted the trophy for a sixth time in the club's history and the fifth time this millennium.

Meanwhile, in the Yorkshire League, division one champions York completed the double by winning the Challenge Cup.

The competition was played between the top three teams in the first division and division two winners Redcar.

York started by beating Redcar 70-43, winning all four rinks.

Alan Vowles, Mick Cooney, John Whiteley and Jack Bird won 25-6; Stuart Smith, Pete Riley, John Crowe and Dave Stroughair won 15-11; Neal Macdonald, Alan Hampshire, Jeff Normanton and Phil Emmerson won 15-12; and Malcolm Lewars, Phil Parsons, Mark Clarke and Craig Newton dropped nine shots over the last four ends but still won 15-14.

York then pipped North Cave 53-48.

Bird's rink scored eight unanswered shots over the first three ends to set up a 21-11 victory; Emmerson's team picked up a two and Newton's side a single on their respective last ends to both draw 12-12; and Stroughair's team lost 13-8.

In their final game against Hornsea, York needed to win only one rink to take the trophy but won three and took the aggregate points 68-40.

Bird's impressive team stormed to a 25-6 success; Stroughair's team won 18-10; Emmerson's team took their game 13-11 thanks to two singles at the end; and Newton's team only lost 13-12 to a single on the last.

York took the trophy by five points ahead of runners-up Redcar.

On Saturday at noon, York complete their North Eastern Ladies' League season against North Cave.

Meanwhile, Selby beat New Earswick 62-59 on aggregate in the Yorkshire Ladies' League, picking up seven of the 10 points.

At Earswick, home team Kath Hardcastle, Kaye Hutchinson, Diane Hardy and Margaret Morgan lost a close contest 13-12 to a single on the last end, Selby's M Hobson, J Hayes, A Laskey and S Williamson prevailing.

Pat Lancaster, Christine Pickup, Jackie Toms and Irene Warrington led B James, G Hardstaff, S Brook and Jane Simpson 10-2 but the Selby four stormed back to win 20-12.

Pat Gibb, Moyra Ellis, Sally Domville, Norma Davies got Earswick's sole success, winning seven of the last 11 ends to beat M Depledge, J Lund and D King 18-12.

Doramy Bellwood, Carole Thompson, Lesley Nuckey and Kath Sykes, after trailing for the entire game, drew 17-17 with P Davonport, G Broadhead, J Burnley and M Birch to get the York club's other point.