YORK Indoor Bowls Club tumbled out of the Vivienne Trophy as they lost 84-48 to Lincoln.

The only York success came from an impressive away performance from Denise Elliott, Janet Walker and Kath Pepper, who only lost six ends in their 18-11 win.

However, the other three rinks were well beaten.

Meanwhile, York's ladies play Lincoln tomorrow at 11am in the Mason Trophy then face Scunthorpe at 11am on Saturday in the Yetton Trophy.

York have enjoyed better form in the Yorkshire Over-55s League, with teams topping divisions one and two.

York Knights thrashed New Earswick Ospreys 104-51 in division two, picking up the maximum 14 points.

At Thanet Road, Charlie Arnett, Ken Robinson, Ray Calpin and Malcolm Thompson beat Gordon Johnson, Ian Carr, Vic Reed and Graham Bell 25-10, while Harley Wenham, Dave Clough, Dave Dearlove and Ray Clark came from 7-5 down after seven ends against David Crane, Philip Whitehead, Bob Barrett and John Taylor to win 25-17.

At Huntington Road, Allen Clapham, Bill Carter, Dave Clarke and Geoff Walker beat David Furness, Vic Woolley, Barrie Shipley and Alwyn Anderson 27-9, while Pete Waring, Dave Preece, Dave Elcock and Peter Bradley came from 10-7 down to beat Steve Connolly, Dave Counter, Dave Hutchinson and Gary Stockton 27-15, despite dropping a four on the last.

Today in division one, unbeaten York Vikings meet Selby at 12.30pm.

Meanwhile, York IBC hosted the Association of Independent Clubs' indoor bowls tournament - with home fires burning.

A total of 14 teams from Newcastle, Peterborough, Immingham and York took part, with Tony Horobin's home side retaining the trophy they won last year.

The team, which included Scott Walton, John Whiteley, Ken Griffiths and Alan Hampshire, went through the early rounds unbeaten - scraping through 7-6 against Charlie Arnett's side in the last game thanks to a four on the last end.

Horobin's table-toppers then beat Ron Munro's team 10-2 in the semi-finals, while Barry Walker's home side, also featuring his wife Maureen, Brenda Love and Malcolm Harrison, beat Arnett's team 8-5.

In the final, Horobin's team went into the last end leading 7-4 and they held on as Walker's team picked up a two.

On Sunday, the Civil Service Regional Qualifiers for the Pairs take place at Thanet Road, starting at 10am, then, next Tuesday, York play Harrogate at 12.30pm in the EIBA Over-60s Double Rinks.

* NEW Earswick IBC's annual pre-Christmas open mixed fours whistlestop competition featured 16 teams of four and was won by Terry Bellwood, Doramy Bellwood, Colin Robinson and Dee Robinson.