Division One

NEW division one champions Osbaldwick crushed York as they finished their Foss Evening Cricket League campaign on a high.

The Clifton Parkers posted 118-2 from 18 overs, Chris Burn (53 not out) and Ted Patmore (45no) delivering a strong third-wicket partnership.

Jonny Rawsthorne (54) and Matt Hattee (51no) tore the York bowling attack apart, though, as Osso completed their triumphant season with a nine-wicket win with eight overs to spare.

Relegated Wellington beat a depleted Heworth side who had already secured third place.

Buddhi Mirando (64) and T Exley (68) were dropped twice each on the way to half-centuries as Wellington totalled 145-2.

Sean Leetham (35) and Will Rymer (50) fell a few short of what was required to win as Heworth suffered a 22-run defeat.

Dave Shanks, captaining Wellington for the first time, grabbed the key wicket of Will Etty while Dan Gunnell, Bruce Kitchener and Sal Syed bowled tightly and Connor Sanderson pulled off a smart run-out.

Josh Archer made 45 off 27 balls and Tom Wilson 35 as Dunnington Academy notched 128-8 against relegated Yapham. Rob Hewitt and C Foster took three wickets apiece.

A century opening partnership between Jack Holman (56) and Mark Fairey (39no) soon put Yapham in control. When Holman was dismissed, the match became tense and Yapham scraped two off the last ball to take an eight-wicket win.

Division Two

MIDDLETON & North Dalton secured promotion back to division one with a seven-wicket victory over Tang Hall Tigers.

Skipper Tom Hewer struck 51 for the Tigers as they posted 100 in their 18 overs, with spinners Mike Anderson (2-12) and Rich Gibson (3-14) among the wickets.

Contributions from Tom Walgate (32), Dave Brent and Sean Tate saw M&ND over the line as they chased the runs down inside 15 overs, Hewer adding a couple of wickets to his half-century.

Division two champions Barmby Moor ended the campaign with an 11-run win at Dunnington Colts.

Moor’s Sam Appleton, who was dropped before scoring, hit a rapid 40 before perishing to a steepling boundary catch by Ed Millington. With Charlie Cawood finishing on 20 not out, the visitors made 99-4 in 16 overs, Harry Griffiths and Harry Paver taking two wickets each.

Dunnington’s top order set off at pace with second-wicket pair Griffiths (31) and Edward Millington (19) putting on 47. However, a late burst from Tom Stubley (3-14) pegged back the youngsters in the middle order.

In the end two boundaries in the final over by Harvey Jackson were not enough and Barmby closed out the win by 11 runs.

Bishop Wilton consolidated against Aviva Vikings after losing a wicket in the first over to total 108-4, Joe Moore (45) and Tom Kirby leading the way.

Quadrat Azizi (50) gave the Vikings a great start in reply with a characteristically aggressive knock before being caught in the deep.

Mike Newhouse (4-1-11-2) brought the villagers back in the game but Kanhu Charan Patnayak (30no) guided Aviva to victory with five balls to spare.

Division 3

THIXENDALE’S Joe Robinson has joined a select band of cricketers to smash six sixes in an over.

His powerhouse feat came in the fourth over of the Foss Evening League division three champions’ final game of the season against Heslington Centurions.

Thix had already taken 25 from the first three overs before Robinson cut loose. He was caught out for 85 leaving Thix on 127-1. Nigel French then cracked eight boundaries in a rapid 49, followed by Jonty Gillingham’s 30, while opener Ray Walker anchored the innings, falling in the final over for 47 as Thixendale piled up 233-4 in 16 overs.

Simon Dwyer (64) top-scored in Heslington’s 166-5 as Thix won by 67 runs despite having only eight players due to harvest commitments.

Elsewhere in division three, runs also flowed in the bottom-of-the-table clash between Stillingfleet and Ovington.

Stefan Littlewood and Sam Dixon put on 77 for Ovington’s first wicket before Littlewood was bowled by Chris Walker for a 27-ball 55, which included six maximums.

Keith Reagan joined Dixon (37no) to drive the visitors to 156 before being caught off the bowling of Chris Woodfine on 67 from just 24 balls. Chris Walker (2-42) was the pick of the bowlers as Ovington finished on 177 from their 18 overs.

Stillingfleet dominated Ovington’s opening bowlers, racing to 61 after just five overs with Phil Johnson and Phil Corfield racking up a century partnership off only 45 balls.

Corfield (42) was caught by Dominic Carass on the boundary off the bowling of Luke Smith (2-43) but Johnson (84no) continued to pile on the runs and was instrumental is seeing the home side over the line with 10 balls to spare, finishing with eight sixes and three fours.

Heworth Colts were indebted to Guy Wilkinson’s 60 after being reduced to 5-3 by Ben Lister’s hat-trick. Lister finished with 3-12 and Andy Anderson took 4-8 as Heworth were bowled out for 110.

Pocklington’s response was mild at best with no batsman scoring more than 20. Will Etty ripped out the middle order with 4-13 as Pock folded to 91 all out.

Division Four

Two wins on successive nights secured Stamford Bridge promotion in division four just behind top dogs Londesborough Park.

Firstly, they beat Bolton Percy, who had also needed to win to keep their hopes alive.

Bowlers dominated with Tom Atkinson's tight opening spell of 2-18 for Park supported by the evergreen Keith Spittle (3-23).

Stamford’s batsman all got starts with Rob Gilyeat (27no) enabling them to post a competitive 121-7.

Matthew Howden (25) led BP’s chase but the introduction of slow bowlers Ollie Pimlott (3-16) and Martyn Woodliffe (3-23) saw them collapse from 37-0 to 60-7.

Tom Atkinson threatened a late response but when he fell for 33 the innings was soon over at 102, Liam Easton (2-11) picking up the last couple of wickets.

The following night Stamford coasted to a 10-wicket win against nine-man Copmanthorpe.

A 76-run partnership between Matthew Morton, who scored a run-a-ball 41, and Andy Northfield (37 off 30 balls) saw Cop to 107-7. Kev Murphy was the pick of the Stamford bowlers with 4-25.

Opening pair Martyn Woodliffe (59no) and Ollie Pimlott (44no) knocked off the runs with ease in the 13th over.

Londesborough Park beat Aviva Vikings II to ensure they finished as divisional champions.

Lucas Stephenson thumped the first ball to the fence and got to his half-century in the third over before being run out by J Pickles for 59.

Tom Eagling likewise hit a string of boundaries to finish on 66 not out, and Chris Roper made 33 as Park totalled 171-4.

Stand-in Aviva captain Gaz Bell took 2-11.

The Aviva batsman offered little apart from Pickles, who finished on 72 not out in a total of 114 all out. Joel Taylor and Mike Drewery took a couple of wickets each in Park’s 57-run win.