Division 1

OSBALDWICK secured the Foss Evening League crown with a week to spare by winning the title decider at Bubwith.

Their 30-run victory means they cannot be overhauled in the final fixtures even if they lose and Bubwith win.

After James Hattee and Jonny Rawsthorpe were out cheaply, Tom Young and Matty Dale got Osbaldwick to 72 before Dale was run out for 20.

Young added 60 with Dan Ellwood before being brilliantly caught for 61. Ellwood kicked on to smash 43 as Osso totalled 174-8.

Mark Holmes was Bubwith’s most effective bowler with 3-40 and Freddie Collins the most economic with 1-11 off five overs.

Bubwith lost Holmes early on but Freddie Collins (61) kept them in the hunt until he was caught off the bowling of Andy Horner (3-40).

Henry Bayston weighed in with 29 but wickets kept falling and Bubwith were restricted to 144-7.

Yapham’s relegation was confirmed by a 35-run defeat against Heworth.

Openers Tom Hodgson (27) and Tom Neal (26) took Heworth to 60-0 after five overs. That soon became 86-4 before Will Rymer hit a rapid 40, pushing the total to 141-7 from 18 overs.

Yapham’s first-wicket pair also started well with C Foster (44) and J Wraith (26) getting them to 69-0 after 10 overs. However, Yapham had a weak batting line-up and fell to 106-7 after being torn apart by leg-spinner Rob Carlhill who only bowled one over and took three wickets. With Jack Wilkinson also taking a couple of wickets, Heworth won by 35 runs.

Bottom side Wellington were thumped by seven wickets at Dunnington after struggling to 75-6 off 18 overs.

Rich Exley scored 23 and Ian White came in at six wickets down and hit a rapid 23 not out which included a six and two successive fours.

Tom Wilson and Adam Dyson put on 40 for Dunnington’s second wicket and victory came quickly when George Wilson despatched the only three balls he faced to the boundary to win the game in the 10th over.

Kal Ahmed fired 43 against Woodhouse Grove and Ted Patmore (38) also starred in York’s score of 129. Grange looked down and out at 64-6 with only seven overs left. Gilbank (28) rebuilt the innings but York won by 20 runs with man-of-the-match Ahmed taking 2-20.

Division 2

BARMBY Moor were confirmed as division two champions after a comprehensive win against Aviva Vikings.

Moor set a competitive total of 127-1 from 16 overs with Tom Stubley scoring a fine 74 not out, supported by Pete Massie (31no).

Aviva’s batsmen struggled to contain the Barmby attack with Nathan Saltmer (4-19) removing both openers without scoring in the first over. Stand-in skipper Kanhu Charan Patnayak (35no) top scored but Aviva only made 91-7.

Dunnington Colts posted 143-2 in 18 overs against Bishop Wilton through captain Harry Claxton (63) and Steve Jackson (60). However, it proved insufficient as Steven Hutchinson (81) and Matthew Jones (46no) chased down the total in 15 overs. Pick of the Colts bowling was Ewan Davis with 1-11.

Chris Bilton’s undefeated 74 gave Woodhouse Grange Academy a last-ball win against Middleton & Dalton.

Ricky Woodmansey (54) and Mike Brent (31) helped M&D total 133-5 after 18 overs. Grange’s batters struggled against Dave Brent and limped to 50-5 after 10 overs. However, Bilton, supported by Harry Cooper (28) held the innings together and the Academy needed 26 from the last two overs.

Bilton, farming the strike, reduced that to 15 from the last over. He hit the first ball for six and the match hinged on the last delivery with two needed. Bilton scampered the required runs with a dive as Grange won by four wickets.

Division 3

DIVISION three favourites Thixendale were surprisingly thrashed by bottom club Stillingfleet by nine wickets at Heworth.

Thixendale struggled to get out of the blocks, losing two wickets for one run in the first two overs.

Captain Alex Machen (58), Joe Robinson (27) and Simon Walgate (30no) staged a recovery to take Dale to 157-5 in 18 overs.

Stillingfleet’s batsmen blasted the Dale bowlers from ball one and cruised home with 14 deliveries to spare.

Phil Corfield hit a destructive unbeaten 82 from only 43 balls and, following the departure of Craig Lawson for a better-than-a-run-a-ball 29, Jonny Wright waded in with an unbeaten 42 from only 22 deliveries.

Will Phelps’ 44 helped Heslington Centurions post a match-winning 99-7 against Ovington - the game going to the last delivery.

Economical bowling by Ovington's openers suppressed Heslington’s run-rate early on before Phelps began to clock up the boundaries. Pankaj Saini (16) was dismissed following a superb delivery from Charlie Buckley (2-34). Thereafter wickets fell quickly with Benji Busby picking up 3-24 and former Heslington man Jimmy Taylor taking two in the final over.

In reply, an excellent spell of opening bowling from Colin Heath (2-14) and Richard Simpson put Ovington under pressure. Dom Carass (32) got them back on track before being run out in the latter stages and Pankaj Saini (3-12) helped see Heslington home by four runs.

The match was taken to the final ball by Carrass and a swashbuckling 16 from Jimmy Taylor.

Westow got off to a fast start against Heworth Colts with a six of the first ball but they lost a succession of wickets. Matthew Shipley steadily got to 38 and Chris Inman scored 31 not out, including an all-run six, as Westow made 123-8. Notable bowling contributions from Heworth’s young attack included Ollie Batt’s 2-14 and 13-year-old Raul Patel's 1-11 off three overs.

Heworth’s response started in mixed fashion - Matt Huffer hit a few aggressive shots early on but he was involved in three run-outs, including that of his own son.

Huffer senior made 29 before being trapped lbw by Karl Pickering. Paul Whitley made 26 not out but Heworth never threatened Westow’s total and lost by 21 runs, Pickering finishing with 3-21 from four overs.

Division 4

LONDESBOROUGH Park went joint top of division four after a narrow low-scoring victory against Copmanthorpe whose own slim promotion chances were ended in the process.

Park struggled against Cop’s opening pace bowlers, James Still and Ryan Partington, and were reduced to 22-4 which included a sharp run-out by wicketkeeper Nigel Dobbin.

Tom Walsh came on first change and grabbed 4-15 as Londesborough were reduced to 57-9. Only a last-wicket stand of 21 from youngsters Olly Rook (16) and Sam Young got Park to 78 all out on a difficult track. Matt Oakes took three catches at mid-on.

Copmanthorpe’s middle out was ripped out by Ed Rook and James Beevers as they slumped from 55-4 to 55-7. Ryan Partington was Cop’s main threat but he was stumped by Lucas Stephenson off the bowling of Beevers (4-15) for 26.

Cop were left needing eight runs to win off the last over but this proved too much as Rook took the last wicket to finish with fine figures of 3-1.

Ollie Pimlott's outstanding individual performance saw Stamford Bridge to victory on a low slow pitch against Stockton & Hopgrove.

He scored 68 not out to dominate Bridge’s 109-4 from 10 overs. Stockton’s reply got off to a steady start through Kalum Perera (25) and Tom Williams (41) but Bridge’s slow bowlers took advantage of the turning wicket. Matthew Beckett only conceded five runs in his four overs while Pimlott took 4-15 as the innings faded away and Bridge won by 18 runs.