CLIFTON Alliance need just one point from their final fixture to take the Pilmoor Evening Cricket League first division title.

Sheriff Hutton Bridge are waiting to pounce on any slip-up, though, just as they did a year ago.

Clifton took a step nearer to the title when they easily overcame an understrength Helperby side.

Helperby were all out for 48 with only Dan Spink showing any resistance with 15 as Jack

Heartshorne (3-20) and Richard Carroll (3-6) accounted for the visitors’ batting. Nic

Hindle (27 not out) and Jake Atkinson (22 not out) took the hosts to a 10-wicket win.

Sheriff Hutton Bridge kept their hopes alive with victory at Newburgh.

Five Bridge bowlers took a wicket each as Newburgh struggled to 70-5. Dave Phillips (28) then led his side to the points, although Bridge did not have things all their own way as Luke Ramsay took 2-17 before

the visitors reached 71-4.

Easingwold’s difficult season got some reward when they beat visiting Sessay to record their first


Sessay batted first and began well as Mark Jackson and Paul Flintoff took them past 80 in the

first 10 overs. But Jackson was then bowled for 43 and, although Flintoff went on to make an

unbeaten 65, Easingwold hit back well through Tommy Langstaff (2-29) and Sheraz Kazi (2-24) as Sessay closed on 133-5.

Easingwold’s reply saw them lose two early wickets to George Till (2-33), but Max Cosgrove and Dan Copeland then took control with a 90-run partnership. Cosgrove was bowled for 61 as Easingwold closed in on the points, and Copeland was 37 not out as they reached 135-3 with three overs in hand.

In division two, Rowntrees & Huntington posted the highest score of the evening when they visited Crayke.

Sam Beales (47), Tom Shaw (52 retired), D Ward (23), D Jones (22) and M Hunter (28no) all contributed to their 191-5, with Crayke youngster Ollie Levin emerging with a creditable return of 3-35.

The home batting never got to grips with the task and, although Graeme Dawson reached 20, his side were all out for 59 as D Firth (2-29) and Dan Waterworth (2-4) were helped by three home run-outs.

Sheriff Hutton came out on top when they entertained Alne.

Ryan Beaumont made 25 as Alne posted 108-3, before Sheriff responded with 110-7. C Spence (2-28) and H Stevens (2-24) kept Alne in the contest but in the end Richard Reynolds’ 35 and 30 from Geoff Schofield

proved decisive.

Champions Thirsk were not in action as opponents Raskelf were unable to raise a side to make the trip to The Racecourse.