THE top two in the Pilmoor Evening Cricket League first division met at Sheriff Hutton Bridge, where the hosts easily beat Sessay.

The visitors batted first and looked reasonably well set to post a challenging total after reaching 72-1 by the 12th over, with Paul Flintoff (16) the only casualty.

But SHB then took command, taking wickets in each of the next seven overs, including those of Matthew Wass for 32 and Mark Jackson for 20, as Ben Harrison (4-15) and Dan Clipston (3-24) ran amok.

Sessay closed on an inadequate 88-9, and, although Bridge lost an early wicket, Dulash Udayanga powered them to victory at 89-1 in only the 11th over - the Sri Lankan finishing unbeaten on 58, an innings which included four fours and four sixes.

Easingwold - who stepped up into the division at the last moment to maintain an even number of teams, only for another resignation to undo the effect - continue to struggle.

Their latest reverse came at Helperby, where Luke Fletcher made 58 as the hosts posted 121-3.

Max Cosgrove made 24 win the reply, but Dan Marston took 2-11 and Easingwold closed on 88-4.

An all-York affair at Clifton Alliance ended in a win for the hosts.

Liam Hope-Shackley (78) and Jamie Butt (58 not out) provided the bulk of Alliance’s 171-5, Ben Johnson having

the best return for Dringhouses with 2-21.

When Dringhouses replied, Danny Snaith made 35 and Jake Green 22, but Jimmy O’Connor responded with 2-15 for Clifton and the visitors never threatened as they closed on 100-5.

In division two, Sheriff Hutton’s good start continued with a win over Raskelf, lifting them into second place.

D Hill (22), Matthew Maltby (24) and Joe Schofield (23) all contributed to their 109-8, with Matthew Burn taking 3-16 for Raskelf. Matt Hawkhead recorded a half century (50 ret) when Raskelf replied, but there wasn’t enough support and his team closed short on 98-5.

Alne recorded their first point of the season after a tie with Crayke.

Alne batted first and made 122-4, the main contributions coming from C Spence (23), Henry Stevens (27)

and Ryan Beaumont (33).

George Pears (40) and Graeme Dawson (35) led the Crayke reply, with C Spence (3-33) and W Kinnersley (2-29) hitting back for Alne. Honours ended even as Crayke closed on 122-6.

Thirsk were handed a walkover win as scheduled opponents Rowntrees and Huntington conceded their game.