THE Fulford pair of Dale Rout and Maria Patsia proved too strong for Bootham duo Gary and Len Bunce in the final of the Paul McCready 'C' Team Pairs Snooker Knockout Cup competition.

In doing so, Patsia became the first female to win a knockout final in the history of the York Conservative Clubs' League.

Rout and Patsia had beaten John McCready and Ken Batty in the semi-finals, while the Bunce father and son team had seen off J Keen and N Kadis.

The competition was concluded at Heworth.

At Acomb, meanwhile, Andy Wade lifted the Brian Jeffrey Memorial Over-50s Handicap Trophy after fighting back to beat Mo Mohammed in the final.

The frame looked like going to the wire with Mohammed leading 47-42. He then took the green but, in attempting to pot the brown, forced it off the table for a four-point penalty. This let Wade in to take brown, blue and pink to clinch victory.

In the semi-finals, Mohammed had beaten Fulford clubmate Phil Cooke 59-26 to reach his first final, while Wade beat Acomb clubmate Jeff Keen 68-56.

Meanwhile, in the league, Fulford 'A' lost for only the second time this season as they went down 4-3 to Acomb 'A' - despite winning three of the first four frames.

Victories for Sam Parkinson (52 break) over Jeff Keen, Cameron Fennell against Trevor Ventress, and Dave Reed over Nick Marchant was not enough for Fulford as Mick Borg (39 break) beat Jamie Husband, Keith Thornhill (32 break) defeated Sam England, Phil Carlton (23 break) saw off Dale Rout and Paul Holmes inflicted the first defeat this term on Tristan Owen to give Acomb victory.

Heworth 'A' beat Malton 4-3 to keep in touch with leaders Fulford.

Victories for Neal Wood, Gary Douglas, James Kilmartin and Craig Pullan sealed the win, with Alan Sherry, Dominic Spiteri and Phil Hart replying for Malton.

Bootham 'A' had a convincing 6-1 win over Acomb 'B' with Andy Wynn, Rob Barron, Tim Fillingham, Neal Brown, Barry Rankin and Stuart Martel scoring for Bootham, with only Jeff Winter (20 unfinished break) successful for Acomb.

Heworth 'B' had a 4-3 victory over Bootham 'B'. Dave Beattie, Andy Ireland, Andy Ogley and Ian Strickland struck for Heworth, with replies from Paul Mahoney, Matt Smith and Lionel Barnes.